CardData:Commentary

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search


This page uses this template:

{{RuleData
|RulesText=
|RulesType=Commentary
|RulesDate=
|RulesSource=
|RulesPages=
|RulesOption1=
}}

Filled out like this:

{{RuleData
|RulesText=This is where the text of the Comment goes, ideally it is NOT in the form of Question/Answer but rather a statement clarifying how the rule works.
|RulesType=For this page this should always be Commentary
|RulesDate=(Leave blank unless there are multiple comments, then use this field to determine the order)
|RulesSource=(Leave blank by default, other wise follow what is done for [[CardData:FFGRulings]], including the file format: [[File:Autolegion-Remote1.png|left|400px|frameless]]
|RulesPages=Put any pages you want to force to show this ruling here
|RulesOption1=If options are needed in the template, they can go here. 
}}

Comment

Text Facedown cards are typically considered to be hidden information. In the original rulebook, Purge placed cards facedown and out of play. FFG changed this in Rulebook 1.3 to make them faceup, which seems to indicate that facedown cards (with the exception of the Archives) are not viewable by either player.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Jargogle•Masterplan•
Option1


Comment

Text
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages Saluk/Sandbox
Option1 blaster



Key blaster
AttachPage Flerp's Blaster
AttachArguments Flerp
Text Can you fight/reap with the Flerp to move the Commentary from one copy of the Flerp to another? Can you fight/reap to attach an opponent's Commentary to a friendly Flerp?

Crucible Cast 17 has clarified how Commentary's self-referential text works. The self-referential text rule applies to the constant ability of Commentary, but NOT to the creature's ability. So you can fight/reap a Flerp to move its attached Commentary to another copy of Flerp, but you cannot attach a different Commentary than the one on the creature you are using. }}

Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages
Option1 saluktest

Comment

Text Upgrades enter play under the control of the player who played the upgrade. For Commentary, this means that it doesn't matter if it is attached to a Friendly or Enemy creature, the "You/Your" in the constant ability text refers to the person who played the card, regardless of which player controls the creature to which the upgrade is attached.
Type Commentary
Date
Source FFG Worlds Collide Gameplay video
Pages •Quadracorder•Academy Training•Disruption Field•
Option1

Comment

Text If Commentary deals the damage to itself and it destroys Commentary, then the condition for the Reap: ability is satisfied.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Mack the Knife
Pages •A. Vinda•J. Vinda•
Option1


Comment

Text Anger allows you to ready and fight with Bumpsy, the reason that Bumpsy is allowed to reap because it is a ready creature of the Active house. If Anger was played to ready and fight using a non-Brobnar creature, that creature would NOT be able to reap.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Anger•
Option1

Comment

Text While Auto-Legionary is in the battleline, it is considered a Creature, not an Artifact. Any cards that would interact with an artifact can not interact with it.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Auto-Legionary•
Option1

Comment

Text Banish's Play: ability does not allow for a change of control, so when Banish is played on an enemy card that has previously changed control, the rules for Leaves Play dictate that the targeted card will go into its Owner's archives, regardless if the Owner is the opponent or not.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Banish•
Option1

Comment

Text Each time Bouncing Deathquark's ability is repeated, two creatures (one enemy and one friendly) are destroyed simultaneously. For example, if the effect is repeated 4 times (destroying four enemy and four friendly creatures), it is resolved as 4 sequential pairs of simultaneous destruction.

When played, resolve as much of the first sentence of Bouncing Deathquark's ability as possible, only repeating the effect if both a friendly and an enemy creature can be destroyed. For example, if there are 2 enemy creatures and 1 friendly creature on the board, 1 enemy creature and 1 friendly creature will be destroyed, but the effect can't be repeated. If there are no friendly creatures in play, 1 enemy creature will be destroyed, but then with no friendly creatures in play, the effect cannot be repeated.

Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Bouncing Deathquark•
Option1

Comment

Text If Buzzle uses its ability to purge a neighbor, but that neighbor is warded, the neighbor is not successfully purged and Buzzle will not ready.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Buzzle•
Option1

Comment

Text Quixxle Stone creates a play restriction that does not allow creatures to be played. According to the Shadow of Dis FAQ, card abilities can modify how the card itself enters play (Silvertooth's ability, for example, modifies how it enters play). Therefore, a creature with an ability that is a replacement effect that allows it to enter play as a different card type (such as Explo-rover or CALV-1N, which can be played as upgrades) can be played as that card type, even while Quixxle Stone is in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Quixxle Stone•Explo-rover•CALV-1N•
Option1

Comment

Text Captain Val Jericho's ability allows you to play one card per turn that is not of the active house if it is in the Center of your battleline. The wording here allows for Captain Val Jericho's ability to activate at any point during its controller's turn, but limits the number of off house cards played to one. If Captain Val Jericho is in the center and its constant ability is used to play a card off house, then another card is added to the battleline moving Captain Val Jericho from the center and yet it returns to the center later in the turn, its ability can not be resolved again.

However, if Captain Val Jericho leaves play and then returns to play in the same turn, it is considered to be a new object, and the ability can be resolved again if the card is in the center of the battleline.

Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Captain Val Jericho•
Option1


Comment

Text If Cincinnatus Rex is warded and there are no creatures in the opponent's battleline, its Constant ability resolves, tries to destroy Cinncinnatus Rex, removes its Ward, then destroys Cinncinnatus Rex.

If Cincinnatus Rex destroys the last creature in the opponent's battleline in a fight, Cincinnatus Rex's constant ability will resolve and destroy Cincinnatus Rex before its Fight: ability can resolve.

Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Cincinnatus Rex•
Option1


Comment

Text The rules for House Choice state that if a player is presented with two or more "must choose" mandates (e.g. the opponent has played two copies of Control the Weak and declared two different houses), the player may choose either of those options.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Control the Weak•
Option1


Comment

Text Commentary's ability specifically uses the word Pay, and therefore Æmber used to fulfill Commentary's cost is not considered to be lost to a steal effect.
Type Commentary
Date 1
Source
Pages •Tentacus•Customs Office•
Option1


Comment

Text Per the rules for Destroyed, the three cards destroyed by Destroy Them All! are tagged for destruction simultaneously, then the active player chooses the order in which to resolve the “Destroyed:” abilities of any of those cards, and also chooses the order in which those cards are placed in their owner’s discard piles (leaving play simultaneously).
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Destroy Them All!•
Option1


Comment

Text In a follow up email with FFG, it was determined that the card's effect could be rephrased as: "For each friendly Mars creature you control, choose a non-Mars creature with lower power (You must choose a different creature each time). Destroy chosen creatures."

Also clarified that you can resolve these choices in a way to favor your battleline. For example, in your battleline, you have two Mars creatures, one a Power 5 and one a Power 3, as well as power 4 non-Mars creature. Your opponent has a single non-Mars Power 2 creature. If you play Exterminate! Exterminate!, your Power 5 creature would select to destroy the opponent's Power 2 creature, leaving your Power 3 Mars creature with no valid target, thereby saving your Power 4 creature.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Screenshot 2019-10-15 at 07.44.46.png
Pages •Exterminate! Exterminate!•
Option1


Comment

Text If there are multiple creatures that qualify as the most powerful, each is considered “most powerful”. If an ability requires the selection of a single most powerful creature, and multiple creatures are tied, the Active player chooses among the tied creatures.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Most Powerful
Pages •Baldric the Bold•Champion's Challenge•Curia Saurus•Fangs of Gizelhart•Forum of Giants•Quicksand•Savage Clash•Sic Semper Tyrannosaurus•Soulkeeper•Three Fates•Tribute•
Option1


Comment

Text All creatures are destroyed by a card’s effect simultaneously (like with Gateway to Dis) unless specified by a card’s effect.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Gateway to Dis•
Option1

Comment

Text When Commentary's ability “puts” a creature “into play,” the creature enters play exhausted, and Play: abilities and Bonus icons on the card do not resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Gebuk•Overlord Greking•Purify•Saurian Egg•Spangler Box•Swap Widget•
Option1


Comment

Text After choosing a creature they control, the active player destroys each creature of the house, regardless if they are friendly creatures or enemy creatures.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •General Order 24•
Option1

Comment

Text The "Purge a card from your hand" effect must happen after the ready cards step, it is not optional. However, if there are no cards in hand, a card cannot be purged. If no card is purged, Greater Oxtet does not receive two +1 power counters.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Greater Oxtet•
Option1

Comment

Text If Hyde and Velum are destroyed simulataneously, both cards enter the discard pile at the same time, so neither Destroyed: ability resolves.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Hyde•Velum•
Option1

Comment

Text An Action card's ability fully finishes resolving before it is placed into the discard pile. Playing Inspiration and resolving its ability to use a card with an ability that would return a card from the discard pile (like Witch of the Eye) could not return Inspiration to a player's hand.
Type Commentary
Date
Source WitchoftheEyeInspiration.png
Pages •Witch of the Eye•Inspiration•
Option1


Comment

Text Interdimensional Graft specifically states that the opponent must give the remaining Æmber, therefore it is not considered to be a steal effect.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Interdimensional Graft•
Option1

Comment

Text While Kangaphant is in play, each creature (including Kangaphant itself!) gains an additional Reap: ability.

When a creature reaps, all reap abilities the creature has must resolve, but they all resolve within the same window of the Timing Chart, after the Active player has gained 1 Æmber. Since multiple abilities can be resolved, the Active player chooses the order in which they resolve. As the abilities are resolving, if an object that grants an ability Leaves Play, it will no longer grant the ability. (Abilities are only active as long as they are in play.)

Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Kangaphant•
Option1


Comment

Text Livia the Elder's ability:
  • Does not make a Before Fight: ability (such as Terrordactyl's ability) become a reap abilty.
  • Does make a Play/Fight: ability (such as Thero Centurion's ability) become a Play/Fight/Reap: ability
  • 'Fight: abilities that reference the attacked creature (such as Snag's ability) can't be resolved as Reap: abilities because there is no fight. The reap produces Æmber as normal.
  • Does not create an additional instance of an already present Reap: ability. For example, Senator Bracchus' Fight/Reap: ability does not become a Fight/Reap/Fight/Reap: ability.
  • Other abilities that provide additional Reap: abilities to a creature (such as Song of the Wild's ability) add additional Reap: abilities that will resolve in addition to the Reap: abilities provided by Livia.
  • Kompsos Haruspex and Livia the Elder abilities can combine to grant Play/Fight/Reap: abilities.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Crucible Cast 19
Pages •Livia the Elder•
Option1

Comment

Text Magda the Rat's Play: ability resolves and creates a Lasting Effect. The controller of Magda steals 2 Æmber, and then whenever and however Magda leaves play, the opponent would steal 2 Æmber.

If Magda is put into play instead of played, the play ability doesn't resolve, no Æmber will be stolen, no lasting effect is created, and no Æmber will then be stolen when Magda leaves play.

Further, if Magda the Rat is played under a Shadow of Dis, the Play effect doesn't resolve, so the leaves play effect will also not resolve.

Type Commentary
Date
Source Magda email question.png•Magda email response.png•Screenshot 2019-10-25 at 08.45.32.png
Pages •Magda the Rat•
Option1


Comment

Text At the 2019 Richmond Vault Tour, it was ruled that when Master the Theory is played and there are no friendly creatures in play, the Active Player may archive any number of cards up to the number of enemy creatures in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Keyforge Vault Tour: Richmond - Round 4
Pages •Master the Theory•
Option1

Comment

Text If a card is not successfully purged, due to an effect such as Ward for example, then the controller of the card does not receive an Æmber, as the card was not purged "this way".
Type Commentary
Date
Source Dysania
Pages •Harvest Time•
Option1

Comment

Text Some printed cards were printed with the Reap: ability "Reap: Enrage Shorty." FFG has not issued an official Errata to Mega Shorty, but it is believed the text listed in this article is correct.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Mega Shorty•
Option1

Comment

Text Much of how Mimic Gel interacts can be extrapolated from FFG's clarifications of Mimicry:
  • Once in play, Mimic Gel's name is now the name of the copied card, similar to how Mimicry is counted for the Rule Of Six. If you are playing multiple copies of Mimic Gel, you would be limited to 6 plays of Mimic Gel. Once in play, using Mimic Gel would count towards the Rule of Six for the copied card.
  • If you copy Com. Officer Kirby, then attaching Kirby’s Blaster to the Mimic Gel of Kirby would resolve the Blaster's attach ability.
  • If you copy an Omega card, you would play the card, resolve any pending abilities or effects, and then proceed to the next game step.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Mimicry
Pages •Mimic Gel•
Option1


Comment

Text Neffru works in the same manner as Tolas, which FFG has clarified via official FAQ entries. If a card like Gateway to Dis destroys multiple creatures and Neffru is one of those creatures, all creatures are tagged for destruction, then Destroyed: abilities are resolved in the order of the active player's choosing, and finally all cards are placed into the discard pile simultaneously (with the active player determining their order in the discard pile). Neffru's ability does not resolve until after destroyed cards are put into discard piles. In this example, Neffru is entering the discard pile simultaneously with everything else, so its ability does not resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Tolas
Pages •Neffru•
Option1


Comment

Text When Neutron Shark destroys itself after destroying an enemy creature, the Neutron Shark's effect still resolves fully, which includes the discarding of the top card of the deck.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Neutron Shark•
Option1

Comment

Text If Neutron Shark is played and a player's deck is empty, the effect cannot repeat.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Crucible Cast 4
Pages •Neutron Shark•
Option1

Comment

Text Each time Neutron Shark's ability is resolved, two creatures are destroyed simultaneously. If eight creatures are destroyed in total, the result is four sequential pairs of simultaneous destruction.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Destroyed
Pages •Neutron Shark•
Option1


Comment

Text Obsidian Forge specifically looks at whether a creature was successfully sacrificed to reduce the key cost. If a card was prevented from being sacrificed or leaving play by an effect like Ward, the creature's ward token will be removed, but it will not reduce the cost to forge.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Obsidian Forge•
Option1

Comment

Text When One Stood Against Many is played and there are no creatures in the opponent's battleline, the affected card is readied, but it will not fight, and the ability of One Stood against Many is considered resolved. If the creature readied by One Stood Against Many is of the Active house, it may then be used to resolve an Action:, Omni:, or Reap: ability.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •One Stood Against Many•
Option1


Comment

Text All of the damage done by Orbital Bombardment would be done simultaneously.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Damage
Pages •Orbital Bombardment•
Option1

Comment

Text If you exalt a friendly creature to repeat the effect, it includes the text that allows you to choose a creature. Much like Bait and Switch, you can only repeat the preceding effect once.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Preceding
Pages •Tribute•Phalanx Strike•
Option1


Comment

Text As long as Praefectus Ludo is in play, each other friendly creature gains the ability "Destroyed: Move each Æmber on this creature to the common supply.” In a case where multiple creatures are destroyed simultaneously, including Praefectus Ludo, all the affected creatures would be tagged for destruction, then Destroyed: abilities would resolve, moving Æmber from the creatures to the common supply, and then once all Destroyed: abilities have finished resolving, all creatures would be placed into the discard pile simultaneously, in the order of the Active player's choosing.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Destroyed
Pages •Praefectus Ludo•
Option1

Comment

Text If a creature with the Poison keyword attacked a neighbor of Shadow Self, then Shadow Self would be destroyed by the Poison effect because any damage dealt via the power of a creature with the poison keyword during a fight destroys the damaged creature.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Crucible Cast 4•Shadowselfpoison.png
Pages •Shadow Self•
Option1


Comment

Text When you play Song of Spring you may choose any number of creatures from your hand, any number of creatures from your discard pile, and any number of creatures from play to shuffle back into your deck.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Song of Spring•
Option1

Comment

Text Song of the Wild creates a lasting effect for the remainder of the turn that applies to all cards in play during the specified period, regardless of whether they were in play at the time the lasting effect was established.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Song of the Wild•
Option1

Comment

Text If Ganger Chieftain (a Giant) is played next to Stilt-Kin, both the Constant ability of Stilt-Kin and the Play ability of Ganger Chieftain must resolve. The ordering of the resolution of these abilities is determined by the Active player.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Ganger Chieftain•Stilt-Kin•Mega Ganger Chieftain•
Option1


Comment

Text Though this card shows "Alien" as its trait in the Master Vault, the printed card may say "Elf" or "Alien". It seems this is dependent on the print run of the card. Until FFG issues an official errata, it is recommended that the trait be treated as printed on the card.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Symon•
Option1

Comment

Text Per the rules for Control, "If an ability refers to cards that a player “has” in play, it is referring to cards that player controls." Upgrades are controlled by the player who played them.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Take that, Smartypants•
Option1

Comment

Text Multiple copies of Tentacus require your opponent to pay one Æmber for each copy of Tentacus in your battleline before an artifact can be used. If they are unable to pay the full requirement, they pay nothing.
Type Commentary
Date 2
Source Tentacus.jpg
Pages •Tentacus•
Option1


Comment

Text The Active player determines which creatures will be destroyed by Tertiate.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Tertiate•
Option1

Comment

Text If Transporter Platform's ability fails to return a creature to hand due to an ability prohibiting it from leaving play (for example, the targeted creature is warded), the upgrades attached to the creature will still return to their owner's hand.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Transporter Platform•
Option1

Comment

Text When exalting to repeat the preceding effect of Tribute's ability, if there is a tie for most powerful creature, the active player may choose which creature among the tied creatures will capture 2 Æmber.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Preceding
Pages •Tribute•
Option1

Comment

Text Uncharted Lands does not specify friendly or enemy creatures. Star Alliance creatures in either player's battleline can reap to resolve the Reap: ability and gain an Æmber from Uncharted Lands.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Uncharted Lands•
Option1


Comment

Text The wording on this card is a little confusing. Another way to think of this is "Choose 3 friendly creatures and 3 enemy creatures. Destroy the non-chosen creatures."
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Unnatural Selection•
Option1

Comment

Text If a creature with the Assault keyword attacks a creature who has the Hazardous keyword, the active player chooses which keyword resolves first. If the creature is destroyed by the Hazardous effect before the active player resolves the Assault keyword, the Assault is not applied. Similarly, if the creature is destroyed by the Assault keyword before the active player resolves Hazardous, the Hazardous is not applied. This is because Ability disallows either ability resolving on a card that is not in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Assault•Hazardous•
Option1


Comment

Text Following the rule that abilities can only resolve while they are in play, Brad Andres clarified that when a Dust Imp (upgraded with a Biomatrix Backup) is destroyed, it could resolve in two ways, with the order being chosen by the active player. If the Dust Imp's Destroyed: ability is resolved first, its controller would gain 2 Æmber, and then the card would be moved to the owner's archive. If the Destroyed: ability of Biomatrix Backup is resolved first, then the Dust Imp is placed in its owner's archive, from which Dust Imp's Destroyed: ability cannot resolve, as it it no longer in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source DustImpBiomatrixBackup.jpg
Pages •Destroyed•Dust Imp•Biomatrix Backup••
Option1


Comment

Text FFG has clarified that nothing goes to the discard pile until all the Destroyed: abilities are done resolving. Destroyed: abilities are unusual in that they can actually interrupt each other and cause this kind of effect nesting. Creatures can be tagged for destruction by something like Soulkeeper and then other effects will interrupt before they actually hit the discard pile. The key is that everything tagged for destruction from these kinds of chain reactions will go to the discard pile simultaneously, and therefore in the order of the active player's choosing.

The cards are not considered to be "destroyed" until the cards are placed in the discard pile; a Tolas that has been upgraded with a Soulkeeper that is being destroyed won't ever earn an Æmber because Tolas and any creature Soulkeeper destroys will both be destroyed at the same time.

Type Commentary
Date
Source Image0.jpg•Image1.jpg•Image2.jpg
Pages •Destroyed•Soulkeeper•Tolas•
Option1


Comment

Text If a card with a Destroyed: ability is directly purged, that Destroyed: ability will not resolve. For example, Oubliette is one of the few ways to cause a Bad Penny to leave play without it returning to its owner's hand.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Crucible Cast #2
Pages •Oubliette•Bad Penny•Purge•
Option1


Comment

Text Taunt should only prevent choosing the creature that is protected by taunt. If you choose a creature which results in the battleline changing such that the chosen creature is now protected by taunt, it will still be available to continue the fight.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Reddit Thread
Pages •Taunt•
Option1


Comment

Text The Timing Chart clarifies that Ward's effect happens after effects that prevent damage are applied, but before Armor is used to prevent damage.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Ward•
Option1

Comment

Text Once attached, the blaster's ability refers only to this blaster and not any other copies of the card - using the creature with the attached blaster does not allow its controller to move a different blaster. If the card is attached to the blaster's owner (For example Chan’s Blaster is attached to Commander Chan) , the creature referenced is only the creature the blaster is attached to and not other copies of it - The creature with the attached blaster can not be used to move the blaster to a different copy. This was changed in the self-referential rules of Rulebook 1.6 from a previous ruling in Crucible Cast 17. "Blaster boucing" was also confirmed not to work in an email from FFG.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Self-referential text•Blaster_Clarification_23-November-2020png.png
Pages •Chan’s Blaster•Frane’s Blaster•Garcia’s Blaster•Ingram’s Blaster•Khrkhar’s Blaster•Kirby’s Blaster•Molina’s Blaster•Qincan’s Blaster•Walls’ Blaster•
Option1


Comment

Text If there are multiple creatures that qualify as the least powerful, each is considered “least powerful”. If an ability requires the selection of a single least powerful creature, and multiple creatures are tied, the Active player chooses among the tied creatures.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Least Powerful
Pages •Cull the Weak•Fangtooth Cavern•Horseman of Famine•Savage Clash•
Option1

Comment

Text The ability text for Commentary is worded the same way as Sack of Coins, clarifying that "For each" here means that the effect can be applied to multiple creatures.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Sack of Coins
Pages •Xenotraining•Zap•
Option1


Comment

Text Some abilities in KeyForge grant creatures additional power; that power gain is contingent on the creature providing the ability remaining in play. For example, if Panpaca, Anga is in a player's battleline, as long as Panpaca, Anga is in play, creatures to the right of Panpaca, Anga get +2 power. If Panpaca, Anga leaves play, those creatures return to their normal printed power (providing there are no other upgrades on them). Other abilities give +1 Power Counters that will increase the creature's power as long as the power token is present on the creature. For example, the ability of Grovekeeper gives each of its neighbors a +1 Power counter at the end of Grovekeeper's controller's turn. If Grovekeeper leaves play, the power counter that was granted remains. For this reason, it is not recommended to track temporary power increases (like that of Panpaca, Anga) using power counters.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Power Counter•
Option1

Comment

Text When an artifact with Æmber on it leaves play, the Æmber is returned to the common pool.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Leaves Play
Pages •Safe Place•Pocket Universe•Uncharted Lands•(REDACTED)•Monument to Shrix•
Option1


Comment

Text There is only a center of a battleline if there is an odd number of creatures in that battleline. When there is an even number of creatures in a battleline, there is no center. If there is only one creature in the battleline, that creature is in the center.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Center of the Battleline
Pages •Beware the Ides•Captain Val Jericho•Eldest Bear•Lord Invidius•Kaloch Stonefather•Mad Prophet Gizelhart•Saurus Rex•The Shadow Council•Zenzizenzizenzic•
Option1


Comment

Text If the Book of leQ's Action ability reveals a Star Alliance card or the deck is empty, the Active Player's turn ends immediately. Exhausted cards are not readied, and the Active Player does not draw cards to refill their hand.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Book of leQ•
Option1


Comment

Text Dimension Door creates a replacement effect that replaces the source of Æmber for reaping with a steal from the opponent. If Dimension Door is played when an opponent has no Æmber in their pool, the active player will gain no Æmber for reaping.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Replacement Effects
Pages •Dimension Door•
Option1

Comment

Text With the exception of draw, if an ability references the top card of the deck and the deck is empty, the discard pile is not shuffled to form a new deck.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Crucible Cast 4
Pages •A Fair Game•Auto-Encoder•Book of leQ•Bot Bookton•Chaos Portal•Crazy Killing Machine•Director of Z.Y.X.•Evasion Sigil•Fidgit•Gambling Den•Gebuk•Hexpion•J.O.N. Cargo•LCdr. Trigon•Murkens•Neutron Shark•Psionic Officer Lang•Random Access Archives•Ransack•Research Smoko•Scout Pete•Vespilon Theorist•Wild Wormhole•Wormhole Technician•Z.Y.X. Researcher•
Option1


Comment

Text If there is enough Æmber on Commentary (or other cards with this effect under the control of the active player) combined with the Æmber in the active player's Æmber pool during the "Forge a Key" step, the active player must forge a key.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Forge
Pages •Monument to Shrix•Pocket Universe•Safe Place•Senator Bracchus•Senator Shrix•The Callipygian Ideal•
Option1


Comment

Text Bloodshard Imp's ability takes place in the same window as other Reap: and "after reap" abilities. If a creature's reap ability causes Bloodshard Imp to leave play, Bloodshard Imp's ability will not resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Bloodshard Imp•
Option1

Comment

Text If you are the first player, drawing 7 cards gives you the following probabilities for your hand shape:
House 1 House 2 House 3 Probability
3 2 2 34.44
4 2 1 28.18
3 3 1 20.87
4 3 0 7.83
5 1 1 4.10
5 2 0 3.76
6 1 0 .80
7 0 0 .03

After the mulligan (or if you're the second player) you have the following probabilities of hand shape:

House 1 House 2 House 3 Probability
3 2 1 53.67
2 2 2 14.76
4 1 1 10.98
4 2 0 10.06
3 3 0 7.45
5 1 0 2.93
6 0 0 .14

And if you're the second player taking a mulligan, you have the following:

House 1 House 2 House 3 Probability
2 2 1 41.60
3 1 1 25.21
3 2 0 23.11
4 1 0 9.45
5 0 0 .63

The question often comes up "How likely am I to redraw cards that I just put back into my deck after using a mulligan?". In the table below, you'll see the results of 10,000,000 6 card draws followed by 5 card draws of three deck makeups. These numbers are derived using the Fisher-Yates shuffling algorithm, which is the same algortihm used on The Crucible Online.
In the "All Unique" model, every card in the deck is unique; there is no more than one copy of each card in the deck. In the "2 sets of 2 cards" model, there are duplicates of two cards in the deck (e.g. 2 copies of Bad Penny and 2 copies of Yxilo Bolter), and 1 copy of all other cards in the deck. In the "1 set of 3 cards" model, one card has 3 copies in the deck (e.g. 3 copies of Bad Penny) while all other cards in the deck have just 1 copy.

# redrawn All Unique 2 sets of 2 cards 1 set of 3 cards
0 37.81294 34.25509 33.09266
1 43.61144 43.80313 43.60717
2 16.14783 18.5513 19.40653
3 2.30691 3.1727 3.60981
4 0.1194 0.21365 0.27703
5 0.00148 0.00413 0.0068%
Type Commentary
Date
Source Numbers courtesy of SkyJedi
Pages •Mulligan•
Option1

Comment

Text (More information regarding card distribution can be found in Card Rarity)

There are three types of special rarity that the deck building algorithm uses, according to the Master Vault:

  • As of the release of Age of Ascension, Variant cards are assigned to a deck and then modified based on other contents of the deck. For example, the algorithm decides to assign an Ambassador to a deck, and then based on the non-Sanctum houses in the deck, an appropriate Ambassador is assigned. In Call of the Archons, the Masters were the only variant, and they were inserted slightly differently; Master of 1 was inserted into the deck, and then based on the contents of the deck, it was either left as Master of 1 or changed to Master of 2 or Master of 3.
  • As of the release of Mass Mutation, the vault returned a rarity actually called "Special". The only card with this rarity so far is Dark Æmber Vault.
Type Commentary
Date
Source
Pages •Rarity•
Option1

Comment

Text Effects may still attempt to deal damage to a creature that "cannot be dealt damage", but the targeted creature's ability will prevent that damage according to the first step of the Damage section of the Timing Chart.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Ardent Hero•Golden Aura•Hallowed Shield•Lucky Dice•Potion of Invulnerability•Protectrix•Shield of Justice•
Option1


Comment

Text While there are three separate sentences to the ability of Positron Bolt, all damage is dealt simultaneously, not sequentially.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Positron Bolt clarification.jpg
Pages •Positron Bolt•
Option1

Comment

Text Similar to Mug, the active player may freely choose any creature when resolving the ability of Hadron Collision and is not required to choose a warded creature.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Mug
Pages •Hadron Collision•
Option1

Comment

Text In order to play a gigantic creature, a player must have both halves of the creature in hand, and play those cards together as a single creature. The top half of a gigantic creature has the text “1 of 2” next to its title, while its corresponding bottom half shares the same title and has the text “2 of 2” next to its rarity icon.

A gigantic creature counts as 2 cards while out of play, but as a single creature card while in play. Playing a gigantic creature only counts as playing 1 card, and therefore it is allowed on the first turn. After a gigantic creature leaves play, the 2 halves are treated as separate cards again.

Both halves of a gigantic creature have the same title, house, and card type. Otherwise, each half has the attributes printed on it: the top half has bonus icons, while the bottom half has power, armor, and the text box (including traits).

If a card instructing the active player to play or put into play a creature chooses one half of a gigantic creature, that effect will fail.

Examples:

  • Regrowth would only be able to return one half of a gigantic creature to hand.
  • Tempting Offer returns both halves of a gigantic creature from play to its owner's hand.
  • Resurgence could return the bottom half of Niffle Kong (with the Mutant trait) and then return the top half, but the same would not work for Ultra Gravitron as the bottom half does not have the Mutant trait.
  • Troop Call can return all of Niffle Kong to hand from play. From the discard pile, however, Troop Call can only return the bottom half of Niffle Kong since only the bottom half has the Niffle trait.
  • The ability of Library Card draws a single card when Ultra Gravitron is played.
  • A gigantic creature counts as playing a single card in regards to the ability of Ember Imp.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Gigantic
Pages •Deusillus•Niffle Kong•Ultra Gravitron•
Option1


Comment

Text Any time a stunned creature could normally be used, it can instead be used by exhausting it to remove its stun status card.

If a card effect would cause a stunned creature to fight, reap, or use an action or omni ability, instead that creature is exhausted and the stun status card is removed. This is considered "using" that creature.

Type Commentary
Date
Source Stun
Pages •Use•
Option1

Comment

Text When creatures are tagged for destruction, the Active Player chooses the order in which Destroyed: abilities resolve. If multiple creatures have multiple Destroyed: abilities the abilities are resolved on a per-ability basis, meaning that the active player can resolve a Destroyed: ability on one creature, then resolve a Destroyed: ability on another creature, then resolve another Destroyed: ability on the original creature.

It's also possible for a creature to lose a Destroyed: ability in the process of resolving Destroyed: abilities, but it is not possible for a creature to gain a Destroyed: ability after it has been tagged for destruction.

For example, Say the the active player has Curia Saurus in their play area and int their battleline they have Praefectus Ludo as well as a creature with 1 Æmber on it. When the latter creature is tagged for destruction, it has 2 Destroyed: abilities:

  • Destroyed: Move 1Enhance aember.png from this creature to the most powerful enemy creature. (From Curia Saurus)
  • Destroyed: Move each Enhance aember.png from this creature to the common supply. (From Praefectus Ludo)

If the active player resolves the Destroyed: ability granted by Praefectus Ludo first, the creature will lose the ability granted by Curia Saurus, as it no longer meets the requirement to have the ability. If some other effect moved an Æmber back to the creature, the creature would not regain the Destroyed: ability granted by Curia Saurus.

(For a more in-depth review of KeyForge timing, see this essay.)

Type Commentary
Date
Source Destroyed
Pages •Curia Saurus•
Option1


Comment

Text The default value of X is zero. If Picaroon is played with no neighbors (or is played with a blank text box), it will have a power of 0 and be destroyed.
Type Commentary
Date
Source X
Pages •Picaroon•
Option1

Comment

Text If multiple copies of Novu Dynamo are in play, each ability resolves separately; The active player would need to discard two cards to keep both copies in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Card abilities
Pages •Novu Dynamo•
Option1

Comment

Text If an ability does not specify Friendly or Enemy in its effect, it may be applied to a card (or cards) controlled by either player.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Rulebook
Pages •Ammonia Clouds•Arise!•Autocannon•Axiom of Grisk•Æmberlution•Ballcano•Bellowing Patrizate•Blinding Light•Carpet Phloxem•Cauldron Boil•Charge!•Cleansing Wave•Creed of Nature•Curia Saurus•Custom Virus•Dance of Doom•Diplo-Macy•Doom Sigil•Draco Praeco•Earthshaker•Entropic Swirl•Extinction•Gabos Longarms•Gateway to Dis•General Order 24•Golden Aura•Good of the Many•Grim Reminder•Groupthink Tank•Guilty Hearts•Hallowed Shield•Harbinger of Doom•Hysteria•Kangaphant•Key to Dis•Lethal Distraction•Martian Hounds•Mind Over Matter•Niffle Grounds•No Safety in Numbers•Onyx Knight•Opal Knight•Phalanx Strike•Phloxem Spike•Phoenix Heart•Poison Wave•Ragnarok•Rapid Evolution•Red Planet Ray Gun•Regrettable Meteor•Sniffer•Spectral Tunneler•Spoils of Battle•Standardized Testing•Strange Gizmo•Tachyon Pulse•Tendrils of Pain•The Big One•The Common Cold•The Pale Star•The Spirit’s Way•Unguarded Camp•Unlocked Gateway•Warriors’ Refrain•Wretched Doll•
Option1


Comment

Text The additional Reap: ability granted by Commentary is resolved along with any other Reap: abilities of the creature, in the order of the active player's choosing.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Reap
Pages •Academy Training•Chan’s Blaster•Disruption Field•Duskrunner•Force Field•Frane’s Blaster•Garcia’s Blaster•Ghostform•Ingram’s Blaster•Khrkhar’s Blaster•Kirby’s Blaster•Molina’s Blaster•Observ-u-Max•Qincan’s Blaster•Red Planet Ray Gun•Rocket Boots•Silent Dagger•Song of the Wild•Spectral Tunneler•Stunner•Uncharted Lands•Universal Translator•Walls’ Blaster•Wild Spirit•
Option1

Comment

Text Similar to Magda the Rat, the Play: ability of Commentary resolves and creates a lasting effect. This effect remains as long as the creature is in play, and the effect does not change if control of the creature changes.

Further, if Commentary is played under Shadow of Dis, the Play ability doesn't resolve, so the lasting effect will not be created. The lasting effect does not change if it has already been established and then Shadow of Dis is played.

Type Commentary
Date
Source Magda the Rat
Pages •Restringuntus•Turnkey•
Option1


Comment

Text If multiple cards with bonus icons are played in a turn, the constant ability of Adaptoid will resolve after each card with bonus icons is played. A different option may be gained each time. If multiple instances of Assault or Armor are gained, those are combined following the respective rules for Assault and Armor. If multiple instances of the "Fight: Steal 1Enhance aember.png" ability are gained, each instance is resolved separately.
Type Commentary
Date
Source FightAssaultArmor
Pages •Adaptoid•
Option1


Comment

Text The additional Fight: ability granted by Commentary is resolved along with any other Fight: abilities of the creature, in the order of the active player's choosing.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Fight
Pages •Diplo-Macy•Fyre-Breath•Instrument of Silence•Into the Fray•Killzord mk. 9001•Plasma Nozzle•Siren Horn•Z-Particle Tracker•Z-Ray Blaster•
Option1

Comment

Text The ability of Commentary replace a card’s original house.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Orator Hissaro
Pages •Brain Stem Antenna•
Option1

Comment

Text If multiple creatures remain after the "Destroy" effects of Champion's Challenge ability have resolved, the active player chooses one of the remaining creatures to resolve the rest of the ability.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Active player
Pages •Champion's Challenge•
Option1

Comment

Text If Collar of Subordination leaves play, the lasting effect created by Collar of Subordination's ability expires and control of the creature the Collar of Subordination was attached to reverts to its previous controller.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Control
Pages •Collar of Subordination•
Option1


Comment

Text The ability of Gambling Den takes place in the "Start of Turn" effects window of the Timing Chart. Any Æmber earned during the resolution of Gambling Den's ability can then be spent in the "Forge a Key" step.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Gambling Den•
Option1

Comment

Text Playing Commentary will allow you to play another card from your hand on the first turn, since the First Turn Rule can be modified by card effects.
Type Commentary
Date
Source First Turn Rule
Pages •Helper Bot•Com. Officer Kirby•Captain Val Jericho•Subject Kirby•
Option1


Comment

Text Regardless if Commentary was the attacker in a fight, if Commentary survives a fight, its ability will resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing ChartFight
Pages •Chonkers•Eunoia•Francus•Gravelguts•Grommid•Hapsis•Krump•Mugwump•Nizak, The Forgotten•Overlord Greking•Stealer of Souls•Brain Eater•
Option1


Comment

Text The ability of Commentary takes place in the same timing window as Play: abilities and other "After Play" or "After Enters Play" effects. If a creature with a Play: ability is destroyed by the damage from Commentary, the creature's Play: ability will not resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing ChartAbility
Pages •Pingle Who Annoys•Autocannon•
Option1


Comment

Text If there are no enemy creatures in play or another card effect prevents creatures from fighting, the ability of Little Rapscal is ignored.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Enrage
Pages •Little Rapscal•
Option1


Comment

Text When resolving the ability of Commentary, "any number" can be treated as zero.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Play (step)
Pages •Battle Fleet•Commpod•Destructive Analysis•Helmsman Spears•Martyr’s End•Might Makes Right•Mothergun•Niffle Kong•Not Finished with You•Obsidian Forge•Orbital Bombardment•Song of Spring•The Archivist•
Option1

Comment

Text When playing Commentary, the bonus icon resolves prior to the resolution of the Play: ability.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Neuro Syphon•Doorstep to Heaven•
Option1

Comment

Text Cards put into play by another card's effect (rather than being played from an out-of-play area such as the hand or discard pile) are not considered "played" cards. If an ability “puts” a card “into play,” bonus icons and “Play:” abilities on the card put into play do not resolve.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Play: (ability)
Pages •Ember Imp•Grommid•Lifeward•Quixxle Stone•Treasure Map•
Option1


Comment

Text When the ability of Numquid the Fair is resolved against a creature that is warded, the ability resolves once to remove the Ward token, then when the effect repeats it will destroy the creature.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Repeat
Pages •Numquid the Fair•
Option1

Comment

Text If there are no other creatures in play, the Play: ability of Skullion will destroy Skullion.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Skullion•
Option1

Comment

Text The constant ability of Speed Sigil only applies to the first creature played on a turn. Multiple copies of Speed Sigil provide no additional effect.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Speed Sigil
Pages •Speed Sigil•
Option1

Comment

Text The ability of United Action allows you to play cards from any house for which you have a card in play. This is in addition to the normal allowance of playing cards in the active house.
Type Commentary
Date
Source House Choice
Pages •United Action•
Option1

Comment

Text The ability of Veylan Analyst only resolves when an artifact is used; Constant abilities do not count for uses of an artifact. However, you may use an Artifact's Action: or Omni: ability to resolve the ability of Veylan Analyst, even if the Artifact's ability has no effect.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Constant ability
Pages •Veylan Analyst•
Option1

Comment

Text If an ability saying keys cannot be forged is active, then keys cannot be forged, even if a player is outside the "Forge a key" step of the Timing Chart.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Cannot vs Must
Pages •Bronze Key Imp•Gold Key Imp•Heart of the Forest•Silver Key Imp•
Option1

Comment

Text The Action: ability of The Warchest will gain its controller Æmber only for creatures that were destroyed prior to The Warchest being used. Any creatures destroyed in a fight after The Warchest has been used will not gain Æmber through The Warchest's ability.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Action ability
Pages •The Warchest•
Option1

Comment

Text If the ability of Commentary is used to destroy a creature with the Invulnerable keyword, the ability can continue to resolve against the creature with Invulnerable, as it cannot be destroyed.
Type Commentary
Date
Source RepeatInvulnerable
Pages •Neutron Shark•Bouncing Deathquark•
Option1

Comment

Text The constant ability of Hunting Witch is available to resolve at the same point in the timing chart as the Play: ability of Chota Hazri. The active player may resolve these to abilities in the order of their choosing.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Hunting Witch•Chota Hazri•
Option1

Comment

Text The constant ability of Customs Office creates a play restriction that must be met before an artifact can be played. If a player has no Æmber in their pool, that player would not be able to play an artifact with an Æmber bonus icon, as the bonus icon will not resolve until the Artifact is in play.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Timing Chart
Pages •Customs Office•
Option1

Comment

Text Tokens and upgrades are only removed from a card through card effects or when the card they are attached to leaves play. When an artifact that had been moved to the battleline using Animator's Action: ability returns to the artifact area, any tokens (damage, Æmber, wards, etc.) stay on the artifact, and upgrades will remain attached to the card. Tokens have no effect while on the artifact since token effects only apply to creatures. If an upgrade grants a creature an ability using the phrase "This creature gains", that ability does not apply to the artifact. Other constant abilities from upgrades (such as that of Quadracorder) would still be able to resolve.

If an artifact leaves play, all tokens on that artifact, including Æmber, are returned to the common supply.

Type ArchivedRulings
Date
Source Leaves Play
Pages
Option1 Archived based on updated ruling from FFG in https://archonarcana.com/File:RulingsUpdate29-October-2020.pdf


Comment

Text If there is a single card in a battleline, it is both in the Center of the Battleline and on both flanks.
Type Commentary
Date
Source FlankCenter of the Battleline
Pages •Flank•Center of the Battleline•
Option1


Comment

Text There are currently no cards that force the non-active player to make any decisions. According to FFG, "The 'unless otherwise specified' language of Card abilities was included more for future-proofing purposes in case there was a strange interaction between cards that would instruct the non-active player to make a decision."
Type Commentary
Date
Source Active_Player_Makes_All_Decisions.png
Pages •Active Player•Card abilities•
Option1

Comment

Text FFG has clarified that The Pale Star's ability cancels any power and armor bonuses granted by other card effects granted by upgrades. "The creature is essentially modified by all buffs, and then The Pale Star drops it to 0/1." This overrides the effects of +1 power counters and card effects like Dark Æmber Vault as well.
Type Commentary
Date
Source Palestarclarification.jpg
Pages •The Pale Star•
Option1

Comment

Text Similar to Tentacus, multiple copies of Customs Office require your opponent to pay one Æmber for each copy of Customs Office in your play area before an artifact can be played. If your opponent is unable to pay the full requirement, they pay nothing.
Type Commentary
Date 2
Source Tentacus.jpg
Pages •Customs Office•
Option1

Comment

Text If Mark of Dis is played on an opponent's creature that belongs to a house not on the opponent's identity card, there must be a card of that creature's house under the opponent's control during their Choose a House step for Mark of Dis to force the house choice.

Example: Chris is playing a deck with Brobnar, Mars, and Sanctum. Chris plays Hypnobeam to take control of a Saurian creature from Sam. On Sam's turn, Sam plays Mark of Dis and targets the Saurian creature, but doesn't destroy it, forcing Chris to choose Saurian for their active house next turn. Sam then subsequently plays a card that destroys the Saurian creature in Chris' battleline. On Chris' turn, when they reach the Choose a House step, they are forced to choose a house that they cannot choose as it is not on their identity card and they don't control a card of that house. Since Cannot effects take precedence, Chris may freely choose their active house.

Type Commentary
Date 2
Source Pitlord
Pages •Mark of Dis•
Option1


Comment

Text If Snag is used to fight an opponent's creature that belongs to a house not on the opponent's identity card, there must be a card of that creature's house under the opponent's control during their Choose a House step for Snag's Fight: ability to force the house choice.

Example: Chris is playing a deck with Brobnar, Mars, and Sanctum. Chris plays Hypnobeam to take control of a Saurian creature from Sam. On Sam's turn, Sam uses Snag to fight the Saurian creature, destroying it and forcing Chris to choose Saurian for their active house next turn. On Chris' turn, when they reach the Choose a House step, they are forced to choose a house that they cannot choose as it is not on their identity card and they don't control a card of that house. Since Cannot effects take precedence, Chris may freely choose their active house.

Type Commentary
Date 2
Source Pitlord
Pages •Snag•
Option1


Comment

Text FFG has acknowledged that this FAQ should be updated to read: "Encounter Suit's ability occurs after an action card is played and its bonus icons are resolved, at the same timing point as other effects that occur "after" an action card is played. However, the active player must trigger Encounter Suit's effect before triggering the "Play:" effect on that action card.
Type Commentary
Date 2
Source EnocounterSuitFAQUpdate.png
Pages •Encounter Suit•
Option1