Archives

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki

A player’s archives is a face down game area in front of that player’s identity card. Card abilities are the only means by which a player is permitted to add cards to their archives. During step 2 of a player’s turn,after they select an active house, the active player is permitted to pick up all cards in their archives and add those cards to their hand.

Cards in a player’s archives are considered out of play.

A player may look at their archives at any time. A player is not permitted to look at an opponent’s archives.

If the ability instructing a player to archive a card does not specify where the card is archived from, the archived card comes from that player’s hand. If an ability “puts” a card into a player's archives, abilities that trigger when a card is archived will not trigger.

Official rules v1.8 March 2021

FFG Rulings

  • “Put into your archives” is technically different from “archive” in the same way that “put into play” is technically different from “play.” If a card effect puts The Archivist into either player’s archives, it will go there face down like any other card, and its abilities will not be active.

In my battle line I have The Archivist. If I play Mind Over Matter, does The Archivist's ability resolve and go into my archives face up, or is "Put into archives" a different effect from "Archive"? Also, what happens when The Archivist is put into its non-owner's archive by another card effect such as Sample Collection? Is the Archivist being face-up in the Archives a requirement for its ability to resolve?
“Put into your archives” is technically different from “archive” in the same way that “put into play” is technically different from “play.” If a card effect puts The Archivist into either player’s archives, it will go there face down like any other card, and its abilities will not be active.