Tide

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
496-000.png

At the start of each game, the tide is neutral (neither high nor low). When either player raises the tide, the tide becomes high for them and low for their opponent. If the tide is already high for a player, they cannot raise the tide.

During the active player’s turn, they may use the ability “Omni: Raise the tide. Gain 3 chains.” This ability is granted by the game rules and not by a card ability. Unlike most “Omni:” abilities, this ability does not require a player to exhaust any card. A player can use this ability any number of times in a turn.

Each Dark Tidings Archon deck comes with a Tide reference card to help players track whether the tide is high or low for them, and to serve as a reminder that they have access to the “Omni:” ability to raise the ride. This card is only for reference, and never counts as a card in play or under a player’s control. When a card effect instructs a player to raise the tide, they should rotate the Tide reference card such that the side labeled “High Tide” is facing them and the side labeled “Low Tide” is facing their opponent.

Card abilities that refer to the tide are indicated by this icon: Tide icon

Official rules v1.8 March 2021

FFG Rulings

  • Yes, now that the tide is integrated into the rules, you can take chains to raise the tide, turning off your opponent's Valoocanth, even if it is the anomaly version from Worlds Collide and neither of you are playing Dark Tidings decks.

    That is one of the rare instances where taking the tide could have a game impact even if neither deck is from Dark Tidings. The other instance is when a player really doesn't want to draw cards and have to cycle through their deck, so they might arbitrarily raise the tide just to gain chains.

    Source
    Tide when playing Non DT decks.png
Note: The Quickstart version of the rules included in the Dark Tidings starter set included a rule concerning the Tide card that said, "The tide card is not used during games in which neither deck includes a tide card.". That rule was intentionally not included in the full rulebook.

If I'm playing a Call of the Archons deck against a Worlds Collide deck that has the Anomaly version of Valoocanth, can I raise the tide to prevent Valoocanth from reaping even though neither of us is playing a deck with a Tide card?

Yes, now that the tide is integrated into the rules, you can take chains to raise the tide, turning off your opponent's Valoocanth, even if it is the anomaly version from Worlds Collide and neither of you are playing Dark Tidings decks.

That is one of the rare instances where taking the tide could have a game impact even if neither deck is from Dark Tidings. The other instance is when a player really doesn't want to draw cards and have to cycle through their deck, so they might arbitrarily raise the tide just to gain chains.

Source
Tide when playing Non DT decks.png

Commentary

During the active player’s turn, they may use the ability “Omni: Raise the tide. Gain 3 chains.” Using this ability does not require the use of a card, and so therefore can be done at any point during the active player's turn. The tide may be raised (even from a neutral state) regardless of whether or not there are cards in play that refer to the state of the tide.

Source:Tide