Mimicry

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Mimicry • Untamed • Action • Uncommon • When you play this card, treat it as a copy of an action card in your opponent’s discard pile. • Artist: Gong Studios • Card Number: CotA (328), AoA (343), WC (379)

Mimicry
When you play this card, treat it as a copy of an action card in your opponent’s discard pile.
It is said that if you travel far enough across the Crucible, you will eventually meet yourself.
CotA 328
AoA 343
WC 379
Artist: Gong Studios

FFG Rulings

  • Yes. Mimicry is being played as a copy of Eureka and will have the Alpha keyword. Since you haven’t done anything else (played a card, discarded a card, or used a card) this turn you can still play the alpha card.

    Source: Rulebook
Can I play Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Eureka! (AoA 128) as the first thing I do during step 3 of my turn?
Yes. Mimicry is being played as a copy of Eureka and will have the Alpha keyword. Since you haven’t done anything else (played a card, discarded a card, or used a card) this turn you can still play the alpha card.

Source: Rulebook
  • For the purposes of the Rule of Six, you are considered to have played the copied card.

    Source: Rulebook
If I play Mimicry as a copy of an action card in my opponent’s discard pile, which card does the Rule of Six apply to?
For the purposes of the Rule of Six, you are considered to have played the copied card.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Phase Shift grants you permission to play 1 non-Logos card this turn. Playing Mimicry uses up this effect, as you would not have been able to play Mimicry without Phase Shift’s effect.

    Source: Rulebook
I choose Logos as my active house. I play Phase Shift (CoTA 117), then play a Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Foggify (CoTA 110). Can I still play another non-Logos card using Phase Shift’s effect?
No. Phase Shift grants you permission to play 1 non-Logos card this turn. Playing Mimicry uses up this effect, as you would not have been able to play Mimicry without Phase Shift’s effect.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. If Mimicry is played as a copy of Eureka!, it will have the Alpha keyword. Since you have already played another card this turn, you are not able to play an alpha card this turn and so the Mimicry will not be played and will go back to your hand instead.

    Source: Rulebook
Can I play Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Eureka! (AoA 128) if I have already played another card this turn?
No. If Mimicry is played as a copy of Eureka!, it will have the Alpha keyword. Since you have already played another card this turn, you are not able to play an alpha card this turn and so the Mimicry will not be played and will go back to your hand instead.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Mimicry was played as a copy of the Shadows action in your discard pile, so you have technically played a Shadows action, not an Untamed one.

I've taken control of my opponent's Dark Harbinger. On my turn, I play Mimicry to copy a Shadows card from my opponent's discard pile. Does Dark Harbinger's ability resolve?
No. Mimicry was played as a copy of the Shadows action in your discard pile, so you have technically played a Shadows action, not an Untamed one.