Assault

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search

When a creature with the assault (X) keyword attacks, it deals damage equal to its assault value (i.e., “X”) to the creature it is fighting before the fight resolves. (The active player chooses whether this occurs before or after other “Before Fight” effects and keywords.) If this damage destroys the other creature, the rest of the fight does not occur.

If a creature with the assault (X) keyword gains another instance of the assault (X) keyword, the two X values are added together.

Official rules v1.6 July 2020

Commentary

If a creature with the Assault keyword attacks a creature who has the Hazardous keyword, the active player chooses which keyword resolves first. If the creature is destroyed by the Hazardous effect before the active player resolves the Assault keyword, the Assault is not applied. Similarly, if the creature is destroyed by the Assault keyword before the active player resolves Hazardous, the Hazardous is not applied. This is because Ability disallows either ability resolving on a card that is not in play.