From Archon Arcana
Animator • Logos • Artifact • Rare • Action: Move an artifact to a flank of its controller’s battleline. For the remainder of the turn, it is a creature with 3 power that belongs to the active house. (It leaves the battleline when it’s no longer a creature.) • Artist: Marko Fiedler • Card Number: MM (100)
If you use Animator to turn an artifact into a creature, then play an upgrade on that creature, that upgrade will be discarded when that creature becomes an artifact again. An upgrade cannot be played if there are no creatures to play it on, and by that same logic, though it is not explicit in the rules (yet), when an upgrade is on a non-creature, it will immediately be discarded. Artifacts can have Æmber and other counters on them, however, so all of those will remain. Ward explicitly protects creatures from being damaged, destroyed, or removed from play, so it will not protect artifacts from destruction. Wards, Damage, and +1 Power Counters can all become relevant again if the artifact becomes a creature again later in the game.