Ward

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search
First Officer Frane is Warded

When a creature becomes warded, place a ward status counter on it. If a creature with a ward counter on it would be damaged, destroyed, or leave play, instead discard each ward counter on it. (Note: This prevents the creature from being tagged for destruction.)

While a creature has a ward counter on it, it cannot be warded again.

If a ward counter is placed on a creature after it has already been tagged for destruction, the ward counter will not prevent the creature from leaving play. However, it will prevent the creature from leaving play in other ways, such as being returned to hand.

Official rules v1.6 July 2020

FFG Rulings

  • Once a creature has been tagged for destruction, it's too late for the creature to be saved by a Ward. While a Ward can prevent a creature from being tagged for destruction, it will not prevent an already-tagged creature from leaving play.

What happens if a creature is Warded after being tagged for destruction, but before leaving play?
Once a creature has been tagged for destruction, it's too late for the creature to be saved by a Ward. While a Ward can prevent a creature from being tagged for destruction, it will not prevent an already-tagged creature from leaving play.

  • Yes. Like Stun, both Ward and Enrage can target creatures that already have a token on them, the action will have no additional effect.

    Source
    Ward-enrage clarification.jpg
Can I target a Warded or Enraged creature with the relevant effect and have it do nothing, similar to Stun?
Yes. Like Stun, both Ward and Enrage can target creatures that already have a token on them, the action will have no additional effect.

Source
Ward-enrage clarification.jpg

Commentary

The Timing Chart clarifies that Ward's effect happens after effects that prevent damage are applied, but before Armor is used to prevent damage.

Outstanding Issues

Exclamation flat icon.svg
There is an outstanding issue concerning Ward.
  • Arcana Advises: Yes in both cases. Explo-Rover's ability acts as a replacement effect for how the card can be played. During a turn where Star Alliance is the active house, Explo-Rover can be played as an upgrade to get around play restrictions such as Lifeward. Explo-Rover's ability can also resolve for the purpose of resolving Matter Maker's ability, allowing it to be played as an upgrade as if it belonged to the active house.

    For more information about Arcana Advises and Outstanding Issues, click here.