CALV-1N

From Archon Arcana
CALV-1N • Star Alliance • Creature • Uncommon • Fight/Reap: Draw a card.

CALV-1N may be played as an upgrade instead of a creature, with the text: “This creature gains, ‘Fight/Reap: Draw a card.’” • Artist: Jason Juta • Card Number: WC (308)

CALV-1N
Fight/Reap: Draw a card.

CALV-1N may be played as an upgrade instead of a creature, with the text: “This creature gains, ‘Fight/Reap: Draw a card.’”

WC 308
Artist: Jason Juta

FFG Rulings

  • Yes and yes. You can choose to treat cards like Explo-rover as upgrades in all regards while you are playing them, even at the level of play restrictions.

Can I play a creature that can be played as an upgrade (such as Explo-rover) as an upgrade if my opponent sacrificed Lifeward on a previous turn? If I have Matter Maker in play, can I play Explo-rover as an upgrade when Star Alliance is not my active house?
Yes and yes. You can choose to treat cards like Explo-rover as upgrades in all regards while you are playing them, even at the level of play restrictions.

Commentary

Quixxle Stone creates a play restriction that does not allow creatures to be played. According to the Shadow of Dis FAQ, card abilities can modify how the card itself enters play (Silvertooth's ability, for example, modifies how it enters play). Therefore, a creature with an ability that is a replacement effect that allows it to enter play as a different card type (such as Explo-rover or CALV-1N, which can be played as upgrades) can be played as that card type, even while Quixxle Stone is in play.