Curia Saurus

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Curia Saurus • Saurian • Artifact • Uncommon • Each creature with Enhance aember.png on it gains, “Destroyed: Move 1Enhance aember.png from this creature to the most powerful enemy creature.” • Artist: BalanceSheet • Card Number: MM (202)

479-202.png
Each creature with Enhance aember.png on it gains, “Destroyed: Move 1Enhance aember.png from this creature to the most powerful enemy creature.”
The beating heart of the Republic.
MM 202
Artist: BalanceSheet

Commentary

If there are multiple creatures that qualify as the most powerful, each is considered “most powerful”. If an ability requires the selection of a single most powerful creature, and multiple creatures are tied, the Active player chooses among the tied creatures.

When creatures are tagged for destruction, the Active Player chooses the order in which Destroyed: abilities resolve. If multiple creatures have multiple Destroyed: abilities the abilities are resolved on a per-ability basis, meaning that the active player can resolve a Destroyed: ability on one creature, then resolve a Destroyed: ability on another creature, then resolve another Destroyed: ability on the original creature.

It's also possible for a creature to lose a Destroyed: ability in the process of resolving Destroyed: abilities, but it is not possible for a creature to gain a Destroyed: ability after it has been tagged for destruction.

For example, Say the the active player has Curia Saurus in their play area and int their battleline they have Praefectus Ludo as well as a creature with 1 Æmber on it. When the latter creature is tagged for destruction, it has 2 Destroyed: abilities:

  • Destroyed: Move 1Enhance aember.png from this creature to the most powerful enemy creature. (From Curia Saurus)
  • Destroyed: Move each Enhance aember.png from this creature to the common supply. (From Praefectus Ludo)

If the active player resolves the Destroyed: ability granted by Praefectus Ludo first, the creature will lose the ability granted by Curia Saurus, as it no longer meets the requirement to have the ability. If some other effect moved an Æmber back to the creature, the creature would not regain the Destroyed: ability granted by Curia Saurus.

(For a more in-depth review of KeyForge timing, see this essay.)

Source: Destroyed
If an ability does not specify Friendly or Enemy in its effect, it may be applied to a card (or cards) controlled by either player.

Source: Rulebook