Neutron Shark

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Neutron Shark • Logos • Creature • Rare • Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy an enemy creature or artifact and a friendly creature or artifact. Discard the top card of your deck. If that card is not a Logos card, trigger this effect again. • Artist: Jon Bosco • Card Number: CotA (146), AoA (149), WC (171)

452-171.png
Play/Fight/Reap: Destroy an enemy creature or artifact and a friendly creature or artifact. Discard the top card of your deck. If that card is not a Logos card, trigger this effect again.
CotA 146
AoA 149
WC 171
Artist: Jon Bosco

FFG Rulings

  • No. The destruction of Neutron Shark and the first enemy creature resolves fully before you proceed with the rest of Neutron Shark’s ability. Because Neutron Shark is no longer in play, its Play/Fight/Reap ability is no longer active and cannot be triggered again.

    Source: Rulebook
My opponent has two creatures in play and I have none. I play Neutron Shark (CoTA 146) and use its play effect to destroy an enemy creature as well as the Neutron Shark. If the top card of my deck does not belong to house Logos, can I repeat Neutron Shark’s ability and destroy my opponent’s other creature?
No. The destruction of Neutron Shark and the first enemy creature resolves fully before you proceed with the rest of Neutron Shark’s ability. Because Neutron Shark is no longer in play, its Play/Fight/Reap ability is no longer active and cannot be triggered again.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

When Neutron Shark destroys itself after destroying an enemy creature, the Neutron Shark's effect still resolves fully, which includes the discarding of the top card of the deck.

If Neutron Shark is played and a player's deck is empty, the effect cannot repeat.

Each time Neutron Shark's ability is resolved, two creatures are destroyed simultaneously. If eight creatures are destroyed in total, the result is four sequential pairs of simultaneous destruction.

Source: Destroyed
With the exception of draw, if an ability references the top card of the deck and the deck is empty, the discard pile is not shuffled to form a new deck.

If the ability of Neutron Shark is used to destroy a creature with the Invulnerable keyword, the ability can continue to resolve against the creature with Invulnerable, as it cannot be destroyed.