Ultra Gravitron

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Ultra Gravitron • Logos • Creature • Rare • (Play only with the other half of Ultra Gravitron.)

Play: Archive the top 5 cards of your deck.

Fight/Reap: Discard a card from your archives. If you do, purge a creature and resolve each of its bonus icons as if you had played it. • Artist: Colin Searle • Card Number: MM (125)

Ultra Gravitron
(Play only with the other half of Ultra Gravitron.)

Play: Archive the top 5 cards of your deck.

Fight/Reap: Discard a card from your archives. If you do, purge a creature and resolve each of its bonus icons as if you had played it.

“Go go Ultra Gravitron!”
MM 125
Artist: Colin Searle

FFG Rulings

  • Yes. Ultra Gravitron’s “as if you had played” text is intended to trigger all card effects like Fission Bloom’s “The next time you play a card this turn.” Note from the Arcanists: The original question here didn't match the ability and situation described. The question has been updated to reflect the interaction correctly

    Source: Rulebook
If I use Fission Bloom's Action: ability (MM 087) and then use Ultra Gravitron (MM 125) to fight or reap and resolve Ultra Gravitron's "Fight/Reap:" ability to purge an enemy creature and resolve each of its bonus icons, do I get to resolve all its icons twice?
Yes. Ultra Gravitron’s “as if you had played” text is intended to trigger all card effects like Fission Bloom’s “The next time you play a card this turn.”

Note from the Arcanists: The original question here didn't match the ability and situation described. The question has been updated to reflect the interaction correctly

Source: Rulebook
  • The constant ability of Master of the Grey will prevent you from resolving bonus icons with Ensign El-Samra, Reclaimed by Nature, or Ultra Gravitron.

    Source: Rulebook
My opponent has Master of the Grey (MM 169) in play. If I play a card like Ensign El-Samra (MM 340), Reclaimed by Nature (MM 374), or Ultra Gravitron (MM 125), does the constant ability of Master of the Grey prevent the bonus icons from resolving or is the "as if you had played it" enough to get around Master of the Grey's ability to stop it?
The constant ability of Master of the Grey will prevent you from resolving bonus icons with Ensign El-Samra, Reclaimed by Nature, or Ultra Gravitron.

Source: Rulebook
  • Any card that would let you play a single card (Exhume, Wild Wormhole, Lateral Shift, Phase Shift, Helper Bot, etc.) cannot play a Gigantic creature because that creature is two cards while out of play. Even if you have the other half of the Gigantic creature in your hand, essentially the effect tries to target a single card, but then fails because that single card cannot be played on its own.

    Note from the Arcanists: Some of the cards mentioned in this ruling we believe may have been cited inadvertently. We've reached out to FFG for further clarification from FFG and will update this when we receive more information.

    Source
    ExhumeGigantic.png
If I play Exhume and target half a Gigantic creature in the discard pile for which I have the other half in my hand, does the Gigantic creature get played or does the effect of Exhume fail?
Any card that would let you play a single card (Exhume, Wild Wormhole, Lateral Shift, Phase Shift, Helper Bot, etc.) cannot play a Gigantic creature because that creature is two cards while out of play. Even if you have the other half of the Gigantic creature in your hand, essentially the effect tries to target a single card, but then fails because that single card cannot be played on its own.

Note from the Arcanists: Some of the cards mentioned in this ruling we believe may have been cited inadvertently. We've reached out to FFG for further clarification from FFG and will update this when we receive more information.

Source
ExhumeGigantic.png

Commentary

In order to play a gigantic creature, a player must have both halves of the creature in hand, and play those cards together as a single creature. The top half of a gigantic creature has the text “1 of 2” next to its title, while its corresponding bottom half shares the same title and has the text “2 of 2” next to its rarity icon.

A gigantic creature counts as 2 cards while out of play, but as a single creature card while in play. Playing a gigantic creature only counts as playing 1 card, and therefore it is allowed on the first turn. After a gigantic creature leaves play, the 2 halves are treated as separate cards again.

Both halves of a gigantic creature have the same title, house, and card type. Otherwise, each half has the attributes printed on it: the top half has bonus icons, while the bottom half has power, armor, and the text box (including traits).

If a card instructing the active player to play or put into play a creature chooses one half of a gigantic creature, that effect will fail.

Examples:

  • Regrowth would only be able to return one half of a gigantic creature to hand.
  • Tempting Offer returns both halves of a gigantic creature from play to its owner's hand.
  • Resurgence could return the bottom half of Niffle Kong (with the Mutant trait) and then return the top half, but the same would not work for Ultra Gravitron as the bottom half does not have the Mutant trait.
  • Troop Call can return all of Niffle Kong to hand from play. From the discard pile, however, Troop Call can only return the bottom half of Niffle Kong since only the bottom half has the Niffle trait.
  • The ability of Library Card draws a single card when Ultra Gravitron is played.
  • A gigantic creature counts as playing a single card in regards to the ability of Ember Imp.

    Source: Gigantic

Related Cards

Ultra Gravitron always appears in a deck with a: