Outstanding Issues

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This is a list of questions whose answers are unclear or ambiguous based on the current rulebook. These questions have been submitted to FFG for clarification by a contributor to Archon Arcana.

Here's the process we use for sending questions to FFG and then updating the relevant articles on Archon Arcana.

  1. Word the question with specific cards, rules, etc. Use the Official FAQ as a guideline. Try to avoid generalities like "How does this work?" or "What happens when...".
  2. Submit the question to FFG via email or via their web portal
  3. Add the question to the Outstanding Issues Database
  4. If an answer comes from an FFG email, convert the question and answer and create an entry in the FFGRulings Database. Include a screenshot with the reply and the original question. (Wherever possible, this should be done with a single screenshot. Please redact your personal email address from the screenshot.) If you're having issues with screenshots or redacting, forward the email to Blinkingline and he'll take care of it.
  5. Delete the Outstanding Issue and rebuild the Outstanding Issues Database.
  6. If FFG updates the official FAQ to include the question in a new rulebook, convert the FFG Rulings entry to a FAQ entry, using a similar process as that used for Outstanding Issues.

NOTE: Arcana Advises is a recommendation on how to resolve each outstanding issue in the absence of a judge. It is not a substitute for a judge or an official Fantasy Flight ruling. Always follow the rulings of the head judge at any event you attend. Arcana Advises is not official information from Fantasy Flight Games. Fantasy Flight has been notified of the ambiguity in the rulebook, and this and relevant articles will be updated when clarification is provided.

Submitted 2019-09-16

If I play a Unlocked Gateway and have Jargogle in play with a Wild Wormhole under it. Does Jargogle's Destroyed: ability allow me to play Wild Wormhole? What if Wild Wormhole causes a creature to be played from my deck, does it survive the Unlocked Gateway?Arcana Advises: Unlocked Gateway would first tag everything on the board for destruction. Then Destroyed: abilities (including Jargogle's) would resolve in the order of the Active Player's choosing. Jargogle's ability would play Wild Wormhole, gaining one Æmber and playing the top card of the deck. If this card is a creature, it would enter the battleline exhausted on the flank of the Active Player's choice. Wild Wormhole would go to the discard pile. If there are further Destroyed: abilities, those would resolve. Finally, all cards that are tagged for destruction will go to the discard pile. If nothing else tagged the creature that was played from Wild Wormhole for destruction, then it would remain in the battleline after Unlocked Gateway resolved.

If I play Yzphyz Knowdrone, can I target my cards in my opponent's archive to purge, and if so, can I choose a card I own based on the sleeves? If I target my own card in their archive, do I get the stun effect?Arcana Advises: Since Knowdrone's ability does not require you to choose a friendly archive, you may select either player's archive from which to choose to purge a card. While you cannot look at the faces of the cards, the card backs themselves are known information (as would be a difference in sleeve color) and since the choice is not random, you may choose which card to purge from the archive using any open information.

My opponent has an Autocannon in play and I play Duskwitch. Does the Autocannon kill the Duskwitch? If so, does the Omega keyword effect still apply?

Submitted 2019-09-17

My battleline consists of three cards: Lollop the Titanic, Knoxx, and Mushroom Man. Lollop has 11 power, Knoxx has 2 neighbors, and thus has 9 power, and I have no keys forged, so Mushroom Man has 8 power. Can I choose Brobnar and play Might Makes Right to sacrifice these three creatures with a total of 28 power to forge a key for free, or will the power levels change as I start sacrificing creatures?Arcana Advises: When using Might Makes Right, you select all of the creatures to be sacrificed, and tag them for destruction. If their total power is 25 or more, then if all chosen creatures are successfully sacrificed, you will forge a key.

My battleline consists of four cards: Bad Penny, Gub, Lollop the Titanic, and King of the Crag. Bad Penny has 1 power, Gub is not on a flank and so has 6 power, Lollop has 11 power,and King of the Crag has 7 for a total of 25 power. If I choose Brobnar and play Might Makes Right to sacrifice all four creatures, the Destroyed: ability on Bad Penny will send it to hand, leaving Gub on a flank meaning he has a power of 1. Does Might Make Right still result in forging a key at no cost?Arcana Advises: Yes. When you initially selected the creatures the total power was 25 or greater when they were tagged for destruction. Even though Bad Penny ends up in your hand, it still counts as successfully sacrificed and you will forge a key at no cost.

Submitted 2019-09-19

I have chosen Dis as my active house for the turn. I play Exhume and choose to play a Helper Bot from my Discard Pile. If the next card I play is a card from house Dis, does that use up the Helper Bot's ability, or am I still allowed to play a future card from my 3rd house?Arcana Advises: Based on the FAQ entry for Phase Shift and Mimicry, the requirement for if you could play an Off House card seems to be "Would you have been able to play this card without the effect of another card?". In the case of playing a Dis card when you have selected Dis as the active house, you are not using an effect to play a Dis card, so you would be able to play a card from your third house later in your turn using Helper Bot's effect.

Submitted 2019-09-24

I have a Duskwitch and Mars Ambassador in play. If I reap with Mars Ambassador, and play a Mars creature (coming in ready because of Duskwitch), can I use the Mars creature as a part of the Ambassador's ability?

Submitted 2019-09-25

In a Best of 3 tournament, my opponent and I have each won one game. Time is called as we are setting up for Game 3. How is the winner of the round determined?

Submitted 2019-10-17

If I play Wild Wormhole, and the card that I draw and play is Library Access, do I get to draw a card for playing Wild Wormhole, since I am still in the window of resolving Wild Wormhole's Play: ability?

Submitted 2019-10-19

My opponent put a Scowly Caper on each side of a Dextre in my battle line. At the end of my turn, if I have no other creatures in my battle line, will I destroy both one of the Scowly Capers and Dextre, or does Dextre get tagged for destruction by both Scowly Capers?Arcana Advises: The two Scowly Capers resolve in the same window, so the active player will resolve them in the order of their choice. Once the first Scowly Caper begins to resolve, it ends with tagging Dextre for destruction. This resolves Dextre's Destroyed: ability and sends Dextre to the top of its owners deck. With no other Destroyed:' abilities to resolve, any cards tagged for destruction would move to discard (There are none in this case, since Dextre is already out of play). The second Scowly Caper then resolves, and must target the first Scowly Caper.

Submitted 2019-10-22

When playing Relentless Assault, do I choose the three creatures I am going to ready and fight immediately after playing the card, or can I resolve the first ready and fight with one creature then decide if I want to continue?

Submitted 2019-11-22

I have Fangtooth Cavern in play. In my battleline, I have Jargogle with Ghosthawk underneath. As my turn ends, Jargogle is destroyed, and I play Ghosthawk. Would the neighbors of Ghosthawk be able to reap, even though it is outside Step 3? Or would Ghosthawk still deploy, but I would be unable to reap because I can only use cards in Step 3?

Submitted 2019-12-10

Should Symon be considered as an Elf or an Alien?Arcana Advises: Use the trait as written on the card in resolving all effects.

Submitted 2019-12-29

I have 4 Æmber in my pool and my opponent has 6. If I play Crassosaurus do I HAVE to capture 10 Æmber from both pools putting it all on Crassosaurus, or does "any combination of players" allow me to intentionally fail to resolve Crassosaurus' effect? (In other words, could I capture 6 from my opponent's pool , and zero from my pool and let Crassosaurus get purged?)Arcana Advises: The "Capture 10 Æmber" of Crassosaurus' ability is a mandatory effect and if you are able to capture 10 Æmber total from the players pools, you must do so. If the combined total Æmber in both players' pools is greater than or equal to 10, the Active player first decides how much Æmber comes from their pool and how much Æmber comes from their opponent's pool. Next, the players place the 10 Æmber tokens on Crassosaurus. If the combined total Æmber in both players' pools is less than 10, all Æmber from both pools is placed on Crassosaurus. Then, having less than 10 Æmber on it, the creature is purged, and all Æmber goes to the opponent of the controller of Crassosaurus as the card Leaves Play.

Submitted 2019-12-31

I have a Mars creature in my battleline. My opponent chooses house Dis and plays a Collar of Subordination on my creature, then finishes their turn. On my turn, I play Hypnobeam to take my creature back. However, since Collar of Subordination is a Constant ability versus the Play: ability of Hypnobeam, how do these two control effects resolve? Is it a matter of Hypnobeam's Play ability resolves and then Collar's ability refires, or does my Hypnobeam keep my creature in my battleline until it leaves play?

Submitted 2020-01-06

In a KeyForge chainbound event, if you go to time and are resolving things for step 1, can you use Æmber on creatures like Senator Shrix (or other creatures with Senator Bracchus) to forge a key, or does all of the Æmber have to come from your pool?Arcana Advises: All Æmber must come from player pools. Note that the Tiebreakers take place in a "post-game" phase, so the game is over, the tiebreakers are used to determine who receives the win in the tournament.

Submitted 2020-01-20

How do Universal Recycle Bin and Spangler Box interact? If you archive a creature that was purged by Spangler Box, then play it, then it gets destroyed, and then somehow destroy the box, does the creature go back into play?Arcana Advises: When Universal Recycle Bin's ability puts the purged creature into the archives, it becomes a new instance of the creature, and Spangler Box's effect can no longer effect it.

Submitted 2020-01-29

I play Sneklifter and take control of a Spangler Box that is under the control of my opponent, making it a house Shadows artifact while under my control. I use Spangler Box, returning control to my opponent and Spangler Box's house to Logos. On a later turn, my opponent uses Spangler Box again and it returns to my control. Will Spangler Box's house return to Shadows due to the lasting effect provided by Sneklifter, or has something caused that effect to expire?

Submitted 2020-02-12

If I play United Action, even if I play no cards from another house, am I still unable to use creatures this turn? Or by choosing not to use the "may" portion (and everything that follows) would I still be allowed to use creatures this turn?

Submitted 2020-02-21

I have Gebuk in my battleline. On my opponent's turn, Gebuk is destroyed. Gebuk's Destroyed: ability is resolved and I discard Spartasaur, a creature. Are "After Gebuk Leaves Play" and "After a friendly Creature is destroyed" in the same window of the Timing Chart? If so, does Spartasaur's ability resolve when Gebuk leaves play or can the Active player order it so that Spartasaur's ability will not resolve?

Submitted 2020-03-09

In Crucible Cast 17, it was clarified that if there were multiple cards under Jargogle, the active player could choose which one to play or archive. Since those cards are face down, is the Active Player allowed to look at those cards before making their choice?

Submitted 2020-03-25

Bigtwig's constant ability says that it can only fight stunned creatures. Does this mean it can only be attacked by stunned creatures as well, or should Bigtwig's ability be interpreted as "When Bigtwig is used to fight, it can only attack stunned creatures."?

In my battleline I have Tantadlin in play, as well as Creed of Nurture. If I sacrifice Creed of Nurture and reveal Terrordactyl, when I use Tantadlin to fight, will it do 2 damage (as Tantadlin says), 4 damage (as Terrordactyl says), or 6 damage (combining the damage of both Tantadlin and Terrordactyl)?

Submitted 2020-03-31

In my battleline I have no creatures. My opponent has First Officer Frane in their battleline. If I play Favor of Rex and target First Officer Frane, can I capture an Æmber from my opponent and put it on First Officer Frane? Does Favor of Rex's "as if you had played it" effect make First Officer Frane friendly for the purpose of resolving the effect (like it does with "as if you controlled it" in Nexus and Shard of Greed) or must I capture to a creature in my battleline?

Submitted 2020-06-20

I have an Autocannon in play. My opponent had control of a Spangler Box that had purged three creatures. I (as the active player) played Grasping Vines to return the Spangler Box to its owner's hand. Do the creatures that return to play from Spangler Box return to play one at a time in the order of my choosing (allowing Autocannon to resolve after each one enters play), or do the three creatures return to play simultaneously (and Autocannon resolves simultaneously on all three of them once they have entered play)?

Submitted 2020-06-27

I've taken control of my opponent's Dark Harbinger. On my turn, I play Mimicry to copy a Shadows card from my opponent's discard pile. Does Dark Harbinger's ability resolve?

My opponent has Duskwitch in play. I play Cyber-Clone, and purge the Duskwitch. Does the Omega keyword from Duskwitch resolve ending my turn, or has the time for Omega to resolve already passed?

Submitted 2020-07-07

Can I play a creature that can be played as an upgrade (such as Explo-rover) as an upgrade if my opponent sacrificed Lifeward on a previous turn? If I have Matter Maker in play, can I play Explo-rover as an upgrade when Star Alliance is not my active house?Arcana Advises: Yes in both cases. Explo-Rover's ability acts as a replacement effect for how the card can be played. During a turn where Star Alliance is the active house, Explo-Rover can be played as an upgrade to get around play restrictions such as Lifeward. Explo-Rover's ability can also resolve for the purpose of resolving Matter Maker's ability, allowing it to be played as an upgrade as if it belonged to the active house.

Submitted 2020-07-08

I have the artifact The Pale Star in play. My opponent has Chonkers with 2 +1 Power Counters on it and a Dark Æmber Vault in play, giving Chonkers (a Mutant) +2 power (for a total of 5 power). If I sacrifice The Pale Star, how much power does Chonkers have? Does the Pale Star only apply to "printed" power? If so, do Power Counters count as "printed" power or as a constant ability? Or does the effect of The Pale Star constantly setting all power to zero until the remainder of the turn?

Submitted 2020-07-10

In my battleline I have a creature that is next to Drecker. My opponent has Doom Sigil in play. If my opponent attacks Drecker's neighbor, does the damage done to Drecker have the Poison keyword attached to it, or is the damage done to Drecker sourced from Drecker's ability and therefore doesn't have Poison?

In my opponent's battleline, they have Bulwark next to Shadow Self. In my battleline I have Gluttony. If I use Gluttony to fight Bulwark, how much damage does Shadow Self end up with? When Gluttony deals 6 damage, 2 of it is absorbed by Bulwark's armor, and then 4 gets redirected to Shadow Self, but does that damage go back through the dealing damage steps (resulting in 2 damage dealt to Shadow Self), or does Shadow Self's replacement effect replace the damage dealing in step 4 of the Damage Timing Chart meaning Shadow Self's armor from Bulwark is not applied (resulting in 4 damage dealt to Shadow Self)?

Submitted 2020-07-13

In my battleline, I have Reckless Rizzo in play. If I use the Action: ability and then upgrade Reckless Rizzo with Opportunist, is Reckless Rizzo's Elusive keyword activated again? If Reckless Rizzo had been upgraded with the Opportunist prior to using the Action ability, would the outcome be different?

In by battleline, I have Scrivener Favian. I also have Amphora Captura in play. Can I use Amphora Captura's replacement effect to resolve a bonus icon as a Capture, and then use Scrivener Favian's replacement effect to resolve that as a steal, or do these two abilities resolve at the same time so I must choose one or the other replacement effect? I have a copy of Fandangle as a Maverick in Dis. Fandangle's ability says "While you have 4 Æmber or more, your non-Untamed creatures enter play ready." If I have four Æmber or more, does Fandangle enter play ready when I call Dis? Does this ability work in the same way as the ability of Silvertooth or no? In my opponent's battleline, Master of the Grey is in play. If I play a card like Ensign El-Samra or Reclaimed by Nature, does the constant ability of Master of the Grey prevent the bonus icons from resolving or is the "as if you had played it" enough to get around Master of the Grey's ability to stop it?

Submitted 2020-07-16

In my play area, I have Animator and Fangtooth Cavern. If I use Animator to treat Fangtooth Cavern as a creature belonging to the active house, can the lasting effect of Animator's ability expire before resolving Fangtooth Cavern's "At the end of your turn" ability, or does Animator refer to the end of turn timing point?

Submitted 2020-07-26

I have Sacro-Bot and Auto-Encoder in play. If I reap with Sacro-Bot, it's Reap: ability causes me to discard a card from hand, which allows me to resolve Auto-Encoder. Does the resolution of Auto-Encoder's ability happen at the same time as the "If you do", from Sacro-Bot (meaning the acitve player can choose the order to resolve them) or does Auto-Encoder have to resolve first?

Submitted 2020-07-27

If I played Wild Bounty and the a card with an Æmber, Damage, and Capture bonus icons,should it be Æmber, Damage, Capture, Æmber, Damage, Capture or Æmber, Æmber, Damage, Damage, Capture, Capture?

Submitted 2020-07-30

In my battle line I have The Archivist. If I play Mind Over Matter, does The Archivist's ability resolve and go into my archives face up, or is "Put into archives" a different effect from "Archive"?

What happens when The Archivist is put into its non-owner's archive by another card effect such as Sample Collection? Is the Archivist being face-up in the Archives a requirement for its ability to resolve?

Submitted 2020-08-12

In my play area, I have Keyfrog in my battleline, Safe Place in play as an artifact with 2 Æmber on it, and 5 Æmber in my pool. My opponent attacks and destroys Keyfrog, allowing its Destroyed: ability to resolve.
Will Keyfrog's ability forge a key for me using Æmber on Safe Place? Since my opponent is the active player, do they make the decision for how much to spend from Safe place when the key is forged? Does Safe Place's ability only apply to me, so only I can spend it to forge a key, not my opponent? Must a key be forged outside of the Forge a Key step if there is enough Æmber in pool and on cards to do so?

Submitted 2020-08-19

In my play area, I have Keyforgery.My opponent has Keyfrog in their battleline and has 6 Æmber.On my turn, I destroy Keyfrog, meaning my opponent would forge a key, so I begin to resolve Keyforgery. Since I'm the active player, does this mean that I choose the house as instructed by Keyforgery's ability?

Submitted 2020-09-08

I have Dexus in my battleline.  In my opponent's battleline, they have two creatures of the same house.  On their turn, they play Code Monkey, resulting in both of the creatures going to their archive and leaving Code Monkey alone in their battleline (and hence on both flanks).

The question is, COULD Dexus' ability resolve here? At first, my thought was that since my opponent didn't play Code Monkey on a flank, Dexus couldn't resolve at all.  However, based on the clarification regarding Sci. Officer Qincan and Techivore Pulpate, I'm not sure if that is correct, since these two abilities would share the "after play" window of the timing chart.

Submitted 2020-10-17

In my battleline, I have Ultra Gravitron. My opponent has Master of the Grey in their battleline and a creature with 2 damage bonus icons on it.

If I reap with Ultra Gravitron and use it's Reap: ability to discard a card from my archives and purge the card with 2 damage bonus icons on it, do I get to resolve the damage icons, or does Master of the Grey's constant ability ("Your opponent cannot resolve bonus icons on cards they play.") block the damage from being dealt?