Overlord Greking

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Overlord Greking • Dis • Creature • Rare • After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Overlord Greking, put that creature into play under your control. • Artist: Ilya Bondarenko • Card Number: CotA (087), AoA (099)

435-099.png
After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Overlord Greking, put that creature into play under your control.
CotA 087
AoA 099

FFG Rulings

  • No. Tolas has a constant ability that is active only while it is in play. Because Tolas is not in play at the time it is destroyed, its constant ability will not resolve.

    Source: Rulebook
If I fight and destroy my opponent's Tolas (CotA 103) with Overlord Greking (CotA 087), after putting Tolas into play under my control, will Tolas's ability trigger?
No. Tolas has a constant ability that is active only while it is in play. Because Tolas is not in play at the time it is destroyed, its constant ability will not resolve.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Overlord Greking will only put creatures into play from your opponent's discard pile. If an effect sends the destroyed creature to its owner's hand, deck, archives, or purged pile, that creature will evade Overlord Greking's ability.

I use Overlord Greking to fight my opponent's Hexpion. Hexpion is destroyed, but its Destroyed: ability archives it. Can Overlord Greking pull it out of my opponent's archive to put it into play?
No. Overlord Greking will only put creatures into play from your opponent's discard pile. If an effect sends the destroyed creature to its owner's hand, deck, archives, or purged pile, that creature will evade Overlord Greking's ability.

Commentary

When Overlord Greking's ability “puts” a creature “into play,” the creature enters play exhausted, and Play: abilities and Bonus icons on the card do not resolve.

Regardless if Overlord Greking was the attacker in a fight, if Overlord Greking survives a fight, its ability will resolve.