Hypnobeam

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Hypnobeam
Hypnobeam • Mars • Action • Uncommon • Play: Gain control of an enemy creature. • Artist: Fábio Perez • Card Number: AoA:181
Hypnobeam
Play: Gain control of an enemy creature.
AoA 181
Artist: Fábio Perez

FFG Rulings

  • Hypnobeam’s Play: effect sets up a lasting effect, which is also a constant ability for its duration. When two constant abilities would both take control over a card, the most recent constant ability takes precedence. So, in this case you will retain control of your creature despite Collar of Subordination, until that creature leaves play or your opponent plays another effect to take control of it.

I have a Mars creature in my battleline. My opponent chooses house Dis and plays a Collar of Subordination on my creature, then finishes their turn. On my turn, I play Hypnobeam to take my creature back. However, since Collar of Subordination is a Constant ability versus the Play: ability of Hypnobeam, how do these two control effects resolve?
Hypnobeam’s Play: effect sets up a lasting effect, which is also a constant ability for its duration. When two constant abilities would both take control over a card, the most recent constant ability takes precedence. So, in this case you will retain control of your creature despite Collar of Subordination, until that creature leaves play or your opponent plays another effect to take control of it.