Ability

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search

An ability is the special game text a card contributes to the game. Unless an ability explicitly references an out-of-play area (such as a hand, deck, archives, or discard pile), that ability can only interact with cards that are in play. Abilities that interact with a card after it is destroyed can interact with that card while it is in the discard pile.

Abilities on a creature, artifact, or upgrade are only active (and can only be triggered) while that card is in play, unless the ability explicitly references being used from an out-of-play area. Once an ability on a card has been triggered, that ability will finish resolving even if the card leaves play.

If resolving part of the instructions of a card ability causes other card effects to trigger, resolve those other card effects before continuing to resolve the instructions of the first card.

Official rules v1.6 July 2020

FFG Rulings

  • Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

    There are two exceptions to this rule:

    1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
    2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

    Resolve in order written.png
My opponent had a Shadow Self with a Phoenix Heart and a Witch of the Eye. I attack and destroy the shadow self. Will Witch of the Eye survive due to Shadow Self taking the Phoenix Heart damage or does Shadow Self return to hand before damage from Phoenix Heart is dealt?
Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

There are two exceptions to this rule:

  1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
  2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

Resolve in order written.png