Shoulder Id

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Shoulder Id
Shoulder Id • Shadows • Creature • Common • Taunt. (This creature’s neighbors cannot be attacked unless they have taunt.) 

Shoulder Id cannot fight.

When Shoulder Id would deal damage, steal 1Aember icon instead. • Artist: Helena Butenkova • Card Number: MM:257, DT:241

Shoulder Id
Taunt. (This creature’s neighbors cannot be attacked unless they have taunt.)

Shoulder Id cannot fight.

When Shoulder Id would deal damage, steal 1Aember icon instead.

MM 257
DT 241

FFG Rulings

  • No. Although the bonus icon is on Shoulder Id, Shoulder Id itself is not the source of that damage.

    Source: Rulebook
If I play a Shoulder Id (MM 257) with a bonus damage icon on it, does resolving that damage count as Shoulder Id dealing the damage, and therefore would that icon let me steal instead?
No. Although the bonus icon is on Shoulder Id, Shoulder Id itself is not the source of that damage.

Source: Rulebook
  • Yes. Shoulder Id's ability is a replacement effect that occurs any time Shoulder Id would attempt to deal damage, even if another card's effect would end up preventing that damage. This applies to armor, ward, invulnerable, and "cannot be dealt damage" effects such as Shield of Justice (CotA 225).

    Source: Rulebook
My Shoulder Id (MM 257) is attacked by a creature with 6 armor. Does Shoulder Id steal 1 Æmber?
Yes. Shoulder Id's ability is a replacement effect that occurs any time Shoulder Id would attempt to deal damage, even if another card's effect would end up preventing that damage. This applies to armor, ward, invulnerable, and "cannot be dealt damage" effects such as Shield of Justice (CotA 225).

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Shoulder Id's replacement effect does not occur in situations when it would not attempt to deal any damage. This applies when it is attacked by a creature with skirmish, or if Shoulder Id gains elusive and is attacked for the first time in a turn.

    Source: Rulebook
My Shoulder Id (MM 257) is attacked by a creature with skirmish. Does Shoulder Id steal 1 Æmber?
No. Shoulder Id's replacement effect does not occur in situations when it would not attempt to deal any damage. This applies when it is attacked by a creature with skirmish, or if Shoulder Id gains elusive and is attacked for the first time in a turn.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

Static Charge's ability grants an ability to the creature to which it is attached. This results in the creature being the source of the damage, not Static Charge.

For example, if Static Charge is attached to Shoulder Id, Static Charge's ability grants a new ability to Shoulder Id, meaning Shoulder Id's text box now reads (numbers for reference):

  1. Taunt.
  2. Shoulder Id cannot fight.
  3. When Shoulder Id would deal damage, steal 1 Æmber instead.
  4. At the start of your turn, deal 2 damage to each of this creature's neighbors.
At the start of the Shoulder Id's controller's turn, Ability 4 resolves and Shoulder Id would deal 2 damage to each of the creature's neighbors. However, since Shoulder Id would deal damage, that dealing of damage is replaced with a steal via Ability 3, and Shoulder Id's controller steals 1 Æmber. Since all damage is dealt simultaneously, the dealing of the damage only happens once, which means the replacement of that damage will also only happen once, resulting in Shoulder Id stealing 1 Æmber.