Bouncing Deathquark

From Archon Arcana
Bouncing Deathquark • Logos • Action • Uncommon • Play: Destroy an enemy creature and a friendly creature. You may repeat this effect as many times as you like, as long as it is possible to repeat the entire effect. • Artist: Jason Juta • Card Number: CotA (107), AoA (125), MM (082)

Bouncing Deathquark
Play: Destroy an enemy creature and a friendly creature. You may repeat this effect as many times as you like, as long as it is possible to repeat the entire effect.
CotA 107
AoA 125
MM 082
Artist: Jason Juta

FFG Rulings

  • Yes, because Bouncing Deathquark has no "if you do" in it, it does not require that the first friendly creature is actually destroyed. Bouncing Deathquark's effect can be repeated as long as you have a friendly creature in play where the effect can be applied.For example, you could keep choosing your Reassembling Automaton to repeat the effect multiple times.

In my battleline, I have Reassembling Automaton and another creature. I play Bouncing Deathquark, targeting my Automaton and an enemy creature. Reassembling Automaton's Destroyed: ability resolves and the replacement effect means it is not destroyed. Can I repeat the effect of Bouncing Deathquark and destroy my Automaton again even if is not destroyed?
Yes, because Bouncing Deathquark has no "if you do" in it, it does not require that the first friendly creature is actually destroyed. Bouncing Deathquark's effect can be repeated as long as you have a friendly creature in play where the effect can be applied.For example, you could keep choosing your Reassembling Automaton to repeat the effect multiple times.

Commentary

Each time Bouncing Deathquark's ability is repeated, two creatures (one enemy and one friendly) are destroyed simultaneously. For example, if the effect is repeated 4 times (destroying four enemy and four friendly creatures), it is resolved as 4 sequential pairs of simultaneous destruction.

When played, resolve as much of the first sentence of Bouncing Deathquark's ability as possible, only repeating the effect if both a friendly and an enemy creature can be destroyed. For example, if there are 2 enemy creatures and 1 friendly creature on the board, 1 enemy creature and 1 friendly creature will be destroyed, but the effect can't be repeated. If there are no friendly creatures in play, 1 enemy creature will be destroyed, but then with no friendly creatures in play, the effect cannot be repeated.

If the ability of Bouncing Deathquark is used to destroy a creature with the Invulnerable keyword, the ability can continue to resolve against the creature with Invulnerable, as it cannot be destroyed.