Self-referential text

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search

If a card’s ability refers to its own title, that reference is only to itself and not to other copies of the card.

If a card copies or gains the text of another card, any self-referential text now refers to the creature gaining the text.

Example: You use Creed of Nurture, revealing Bad Penny from your hand and choosing a Dust Pixie in play. Dust Pixie will effectively gain the text: “Destroyed: Return Dust Pixie to your hand.”

If an upgrade gives a creature an ability that refers to the upgrade’s own title, that reference is considered self-referential text. It refers only to that copy of the upgrade and not any other copies of the upgrade.

If a creature gains an ability that refers to that creature's own title, that reference is considered self-referential text.

Official rules v1.6 July 2020

FFG Rulings

  • Any Self-referential text now refers to the creature gaining the text. For example, if you use Creed of Nurture to give Shorty's ability to Ghosthawk, Ghosthawk gains a Reap: ability that says "Enrage Ghosthawk".

How does Creed of Nurture work when it is used to copy the ability of a creature with Self-Referential Tex in its ability?
Any Self-referential text now refers to the creature gaining the text. For example, if you use Creed of Nurture to give Shorty's ability to Ghosthawk, Ghosthawk gains a Reap: ability that says "Enrage Ghosthawk".

  • If an upgrade gives the creature an ability that refers to the upgrade by name, the reference is only to that copy of the upgrade.

For an upgrade like Armageddon Cloak, which gives its creature an ability that refers to Armageddon Cloak itself, is that text considered self-referential?
If an upgrade gives the creature an ability that refers to the upgrade by name, the reference is only to that copy of the upgrade.