Tolas

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tolas • Dis • Creature • Rare • Elusive. (The first time this creature is attacked each turn, no damage is dealt.)

Each time a creature is destroyed, its opponent gains 1Enhance aember.png. • Artist: Caravan Studio • Card Number: CotA (103), AoA (106)

435-106.png
Elusive. (The first time this creature is attacked each turn, no damage is dealt.)

Each time a creature is destroyed, its opponent gains 1Enhance aember.png.

CotA 103
AoA 106

FFG Rulings

  • Yes. Cards still count as being destroyed even if their “Destroyed:” effect moves them out of play.

    Note from the Arcanists: In the rulebook, the question and answer don't quite seem to match up. The original text of the question is below.

    If I have out a Tolas (CoTA 103) when my Bad Penny (CoTA 296) is destroyed, do I gain Æmber even if Bad Penny goes to my hand instead of my discard pile?

    Source: Rulebook
If I have Tolas (CoTA 103) in my battleline and destroy my opponent's Bad Penny (CoTA 296), do I gain Æmber even if Bad Penny goes to my opponent's hand instead of their discard pile?
Yes. Cards still count as being destroyed even if their “Destroyed:” effect moves them out of play.

Note from the Arcanists: In the rulebook, the question and answer don't quite seem to match up. The original text of the question is below.

If I have out a Tolas (CoTA 103) when my Bad Penny (CoTA 296) is destroyed, do I gain Æmber even if Bad Penny goes to my hand instead of my discard pile?

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Tolas’ ability does not trigger until cards are actually put into discard piles, at which point Tolas is already destroyed.

    Source: Rulebook
If a card like Gateway to Dis (CoTA 59) destroys multiple creatures and Tolas (CoTA 103) is one of those creatures, does anyone gain Æmber off of Tolas’ ability?
No. Tolas’ ability does not trigger until cards are actually put into discard piles, at which point Tolas is already destroyed.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. Tolas has a constant ability that is active only while it is in play. Because Tolas is not in play at the time it is destroyed, its constant ability will not resolve.

    Source: Rulebook
If I fight and destroy my opponent's Tolas (CotA 103) with Overlord Greking (CotA 087), after putting Tolas into play under my control, will Tolas's ability trigger?
No. Tolas has a constant ability that is active only while it is in play. Because Tolas is not in play at the time it is destroyed, its constant ability will not resolve.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

FFG has clarified that nothing goes to the discard pile until all the Destroyed: abilities are done resolving. Destroyed: abilities are unusual in that they can actually interrupt each other and cause this kind of effect nesting. Creatures can be tagged for destruction by something like Soulkeeper and then other effects will interrupt before they actually hit the discard pile. The key is that everything tagged for destruction from these kinds of chain reactions will go to the discard pile simultaneously, and therefore in the order of the active player's choosing.

The cards are not considered to be "destroyed" until the cards are placed in the discard pile; a Tolas that has been upgraded with a Soulkeeper that is being destroyed won't ever earn an Æmber because Tolas and any creature Soulkeeper destroys will both be destroyed at the same time.

Source
Image0.jpg
Image1.jpg
Image2.jpg