Collar of Subordination

From Archon Arcana
Collar of Subordination • Dis • Upgrade • Rare • You control this creature. • Artist: Bogdan Tauciuc • Card Number: CotA (105), AoA (089), WC (102)

Collar of Subordination
You control this creature.
“OBEY.”
CotA 105
AoA 089
WC 102

FFG Rulings

  • Hypnobeam’s Play: effect sets up a lasting effect, which is also a constant ability for its duration. When two constant abilities would both take control over a card, the most recent constant ability takes precedence. So, in this case you will retain control of your creature despite Collar of Subordination, until that creature leaves play or your opponent plays another effect to take control of it.

I have a Mars creature in my battleline. My opponent chooses house Dis and plays a Collar of Subordination on my creature, then finishes their turn. On my turn, I play Hypnobeam to take my creature back. However, since Collar of Subordination is a Constant ability versus the Play: ability of Hypnobeam, how do these two control effects resolve?
Hypnobeam’s Play: effect sets up a lasting effect, which is also a constant ability for its duration. When two constant abilities would both take control over a card, the most recent constant ability takes precedence. So, in this case you will retain control of your creature despite Collar of Subordination, until that creature leaves play or your opponent plays another effect to take control of it.

Commentary

If Collar of Subordination leaves play, the lasting effect created by Collar of Subordination's ability expires and control of the creature the Collar of Subordination was attached to reverts to its previous controller.

Source: Control