Use

From Archon Arcana
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The active player can use any number of cards from the active house that they have in play during step three of their turn. Depending on a card’s type, the active player is able to do different things when using that card.

Upgrades

An upgrade modifies the creature it is attached to and is not used independently of that creature.

Using Artifacts

There are two types of abilities that enable a player to use an artifact: “Action:” abilities and “Omni:” abilities.

  • When a player uses an artifact, they exhaust the card and then resolve its abilities.
  • A player can only use an “Action:” ability if it is on a card that belongs to the active house.
  • A player can resolve an “Omni:” ability even if it is on a card that does not belong to the active house.
  • Some artifacts require that they be sacrificed as part of the cost of using them. When an artifact is sacrificed, it is placed in its owner’s discard pile. A player must still exhaust such an artifact when using it.
  • Artifacts cannot be used to reap or to fight.

Using Creatures

When a player uses a creature, that player must exhaust the creature, and the player has the option to reap, fight, or to trigger the creature’s “Action:” ability or trigger the creature’s “Omni:” ability. Any card effect that causes a creature to fight, reap, trigger its “Action:” ability, or to trigger it’s “Omni:” ability is causing that creature to be used.

Reap

Any ready creature of the active house may reap. When a creature is used to reap, the creature exhausts and its controller gains 1 Æmber for their Æmber pool. Then, all “Reap:” abilities the creature has, if it has any, resolve.

Fight

Any ready creature of the active house may fight.

Combat.png

When a creature is used to fight, the creature exhausts and its controller chooses one eligible creature controlled by the opponent as the target of the attack. Each of the two creatures deals an amount of damage equal to its power (the value to the left of the card’s title) to the other creature. All of this damage is dealt simultaneously. After the fight resolves, if the creature that is being used to fight survives, all “Fight:” abilities the creature has, if it has any, resolve.

A creature cannot fight if there is no enemy creature that can be chosen as the target of the attack.

Action

Any ready creature of the active house may trigger its “Action:” ability, if it has one. When a creature is used to trigger its “Action:” ability, the creature exhausts and that “Action:” ability resolves.

Omni

Any ready creature may trigger its “Omni:” ability, if it has one, even if it does not belong to the active house. When a creature is used to trigger its “Omni:” ability, the creature exhausts and that “Omni:” ability resolves.

Damage & Armor

When a creature is dealt damage, place an amount of damage tokens equal to the amount of damage dealt on the creature. If a creature has as much or more damage on it as it has power, the creature is destroyed and placed on top of its owner’s discard pile. If a creature has an armor value (to the right of the card’s title), the armor prevents that much incoming damage each turn. (For more details, see Armor)

When a creature leaves play, any Æmber on that creature is gained by the opponent.(see Capture)

Official rules v1.6 July 2020

Commentary

Any time a stunned creature could normally be used, it can instead be used by exhausting it to remove its stun status card. If a card effect would cause a stunned creature to fight, reap, or use an action or omni ability, instead that creature is exhausted and the stun status card is removed. This is considered "using" that creature.

Source: Stun