Jargogle

From Archon Arcana
Jargogle • Logos • Creature • Uncommon • Elusive.

Play: Put a card from your hand facedown under Jargogle.

Destroyed: If it is your turn, play the card under Jargogle; otherwise, archive that card. • Artist: David Auden Nash • Card Number: AoA (131), WC (153)

Jargogle
Elusive.

Play: Put a card from your hand facedown under Jargogle.

Destroyed: If it is your turn, play the card under Jargogle; otherwise, archive that card.

AoA 131
WC 153

FFG Rulings

  • No, Omega will not stop Jargogle’s Destroyed: ability. Before Omega ends the step, you must resolve pending triggers, which means you will play the card under Jargogle, playing Wild Wormhole. If Wild Wormhole plays a creature this way, it will survive, as all creatures were already tagged for destruction by Unlocked Gateway.

    Source: Rulebook
I have a Jargogle's (AoA 131) with a Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125) under it, and I play Unlocked Gateway (AoA 67). Will Omega prevent me from playing the Wild Wormhole under Jargogle? If Wild Wormhole causes a creature to be played from my deck, does that creature survive the Unlocked Gateway?
No, Omega will not stop Jargogle’s Destroyed: ability. Before Omega ends the step, you must resolve pending triggers, which means you will play the card under Jargogle, playing Wild Wormhole. If Wild Wormhole plays a creature this way, it will survive, as all creatures were already tagged for destruction by Unlocked Gateway.

Source: Rulebook
  • Not usually. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 3 you may not play or use any more cards—just finish resolving any more triggered effects and then move on to the next step. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 1, however (for example, because you forged a key while Strange Gizmo (CoTA 134) was out), you only move on to Step 2, where you may then choose your house and move on to Step 3, where you are allowed to play and use cards again as normal.

    Source: Rulebook
If my Jargogle (AoA 131) is destroyed on my turn and its Destroyed: ability lets me play a card with Omega, can I still play cards afterwards?
Not usually. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 3 you may not play or use any more cards—just finish resolving any more triggered effects and then move on to the next step. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 1, however (for example, because you forged a key while Strange Gizmo (CoTA 134) was out), you only move on to Step 2, where you may then choose your house and move on to Step 3, where you are allowed to play and use cards again as normal.

Source: Rulebook
  • No. According to the rules for Destroyed, the Unlocked Gateway has already tagged the cards that were in play when it was played for destruction, and will not continue to tag new cards that are played. The creature under Jargogle will be played, and then the cards that were tagged for destruction will finish resolving the destruction event.

If I destroy Jargogle with a board wipe such as Unlocked Gateway and it plays a creature, is that creature then destroyed by the Unlocked Gateway as well?
No. According to the rules for Destroyed, the Unlocked Gateway has already tagged the cards that were in play when it was played for destruction, and will not continue to tag new cards that are played. The creature under Jargogle will be played, and then the cards that were tagged for destruction will finish resolving the destruction event.

  • Jargogle's Destroyed: ability resolves once, allowing you to play or archive one of the cards underneath it (of the active player's choice).

If Jargogle ends up with multiple cards underneath it, what happens when it is destroyed?
Jargogle's Destroyed: ability resolves once, allowing you to play or archive one of the cards underneath it (of the active player's choice).

  • When Jargogle is destroyed with multiple cards under it, if the active player is the controller of Jargogle, they can look at the cards beneath Jargogle and choose which one to play. If the active player is not the controller of Jargogle, they choose one of the cards under Jargogle at random and put it in its owner’s archives, then all other cards under Jargogle go to their owner’s discard pile(s).

In Crucible Cast 17, it was clarified that if there were multiple cards under Jargogle, the active player could choose which one to play or archive. Since those cards are face down, is the Active Player allowed to look at those cards before making their choice?
When Jargogle is destroyed with multiple cards under it, if the active player is the controller of Jargogle, they can look at the cards beneath Jargogle and choose which one to play. If the active player is not the controller of Jargogle, they choose one of the cards under Jargogle at random and put it in its owner’s archives, then all other cards under Jargogle go to their owner’s discard pile(s).

  • While creatures normally wouldn’t be able to reap outside of Step 3, because of the golden rule (card text overrides rules text), Ghosthawk’s ability will allow you to reap with its neighbors if you choose to.

I have Fangtooth Cavern in play. In my battleline, I have Jargogle with Ghosthawk underneath. As my turn ends, Jargogle is destroyed, and I play Ghosthawk. Would the neighbors of Ghosthawk be able to reap, even though it is outside Step 3? Or would Ghosthawk still deploy, but I would be unable to reap because I can only use cards in Step 3?
While creatures normally wouldn’t be able to reap outside of Step 3, because of the golden rule (card text overrides rules text), Ghosthawk’s ability will allow you to reap with its neighbors if you choose to.