Wild Wormhole

From Archon Arcana
Wild Wormhole • Logos • Action • Common • Play: Play the top card of your deck. • Artist: Ivan Tao • Card Number: CotA (125), AoA (122), WC (143)

Wild Wormhole
Play: Play the top card of your deck.
“But if we ever do recover the dataprobe, think of what we will learn!”
CotA 125
AoA 122
WC 143
Artist: Ivan Tao

FFG Rulings

  • No, Omega will not stop Jargogle’s Destroyed: ability. Before Omega ends the step, you must resolve pending triggers, which means you will play the card under Jargogle, playing Wild Wormhole. If Wild Wormhole plays a creature this way, it will survive, as all creatures were already tagged for destruction by Unlocked Gateway.

    Source: Rulebook
I have a Jargogle's (AoA 131) with a Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125) under it, and I play Unlocked Gateway (AoA 67). Will Omega prevent me from playing the Wild Wormhole under Jargogle? If Wild Wormhole causes a creature to be played from my deck, does that creature survive the Unlocked Gateway?
No, Omega will not stop Jargogle’s Destroyed: ability. Before Omega ends the step, you must resolve pending triggers, which means you will play the card under Jargogle, playing Wild Wormhole. If Wild Wormhole plays a creature this way, it will survive, as all creatures were already tagged for destruction by Unlocked Gateway.

Source: Rulebook
  • The Kelifi Dragon is returned to the top of the deck. Kelifi Dragon has a play requirement of needing to have 7 Æmber in your Æmber pool, and since you didn’t have any initially (you now have 1 from playing the Wild Wormhole) you don’t have enough to be able to play the Kelifi Dragon. Since you can’t play the card it is returned to the place you tried to play it from, in this case the top of the deck.

    Source: Rulebook
I have 0 Æmber in my Æmber pool and have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn. I play Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125) and try and play the top card of my deck is Kelifi Dragon (CoTA 037). What happens?
The Kelifi Dragon is returned to the top of the deck. Kelifi Dragon has a play requirement of needing to have 7 Æmber in your Æmber pool, and since you didn’t have any initially (you now have 1 from playing the Wild Wormhole) you don’t have enough to be able to play the Kelifi Dragon. Since you can’t play the card it is returned to the place you tried to play it from, in this case the top of the deck.

Source: Rulebook
  • When you play a Wild Wormhole after playing a Library Access the following happens in this order:
    1. You gain 1 Æmber from Wild Wormhole’s Æmber bonus.
    2. Library Access’s effect and Wild Wormhole’s play effect are simultaneous, so you may resolve them in either order.
    3. You gain Æmber from any Æmber bonus on the card played from the top of your deck.
    4. If there are any play effects on the card played from the top of your deck, they are simultaneous with Library Access’s effect. You may resolve them in either order.

      Source: Rulebook
I have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn and start off by playing Library Access (CoTA 115), I then play Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125). In what order do I resolve this combination of effects?
When you play a Wild Wormhole after playing a Library Access the following happens in this order:
  1. You gain 1 Æmber from Wild Wormhole’s Æmber bonus.
  2. Library Access’s effect and Wild Wormhole’s play effect are simultaneous, so you may resolve them in either order.
  3. You gain Æmber from any Æmber bonus on the card played from the top of your deck.
  4. If there are any play effects on the card played from the top of your deck, they are simultaneous with Library Access’s effect. You may resolve them in either order.

Source: Rulebook
  • Wild Wormhole’s effect can be resolved. The First Turn Rule specifies that players cannot play or discard more than one card from their hand. However it does not prohibit cards from being played or discarded from other game areas, such as your deck.

    Source: Rulebook
Its the first turn of the game and I am going first. I choose house Logos to be the active house and play the card Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125). Can Wild Wormhole’s effect be resolved even though the First Turn Rule is in effect?
Wild Wormhole’s effect can be resolved. The First Turn Rule specifies that players cannot play or discard more than one card from their hand. However it does not prohibit cards from being played or discarded from other game areas, such as your deck.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

With the exception of draw, if an ability references the top card of the deck and the deck is empty, the discard pile is not shuffled to form a new deck.