Mimic Gel

From Archon Arcana
Mimic Gel • Logos • Creature • Rare • Mimic Gel cannot be played unless there is another creature in play.

Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of another creature in play, except it belongs to house Logos. • Artist: Djib • Card Number: WC (170)

Mimic Gel
Mimic Gel cannot be played unless there is another creature in play.

Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of another creature in play, except it belongs to house Logos.

WC 170
Artist: Djib

FFG Rulings

  • No. Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of the base card, unmodified by any other effects.

    Source: Rulebook
If I play Mimic Gel (WC 170) copying a creature that has damage counters, +1 power counters, a ward counter, and an upgrade which gives it additional text, does Mimic Gel also copy the various counters and upgraded text?
No. Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of the base card, unmodified by any other effects.

Source: Rulebook
  • Yes to both. Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of the chosen card, and both Deploy and Crash Muldoon’s “enters play ready” ability take effect as the card enters play, so Mimic Gel will also copy these effects.

    Source: Rulebook
If I play Mimic Gel copying a Crash Muldoon (WC 327) will Mimic Gel enter play ready, and can I use the Deploy ability to have Mimic Gel enter play anywhere in my battleline?
Yes to both. Mimic Gel enters play as a copy of the chosen card, and both Deploy and Crash Muldoon’s “enters play ready” ability take effect as the card enters play, so Mimic Gel will also copy these effects.

Source: Rulebook
  • Mimic Gel becomes a 5-power creature that can be used as if it belonged to the active house.

    Source: Rulebook
If I play Mimic Gel copying an Auto-Legionary that has been activated and is currently a creature, what does Mimic Gel become?
Mimic Gel becomes a 5-power creature that can be used as if it belonged to the active house.

Source: Rulebook
Can Mimic Gel be used to copy a creature with Alpha if it is not the first card played in the step?
You cannot play Mimic Gel as a copy of a creature with Alpha unless it is the first card you play that turn. This follows similar precedent as the Mimicry + Eureka examples in the FAQ.

Commentary

Much of how Mimic Gel interacts can be extrapolated from FFG's clarifications of Mimicry:
  • Once in play, Mimic Gel's name is now the name of the copied card, similar to how Mimicry is counted for the Rule Of Six. If you are playing multiple copies of Mimic Gel, you would be limited to 6 plays of Mimic Gel. Once in play, using Mimic Gel would count towards the Rule of Six for the copied card.
  • If you copy Com. Officer Kirby, then attaching Kirby’s Blaster to the Mimic Gel of Kirby would resolve the Blaster's attach ability.
  • If you copy an Omega card, you would play the card, resolve any pending abilities or effects, and then proceed to the next game step.

    Source: Mimicry