Restringuntus

From Archon Arcana
Restringuntus • Dis • Creature • Rare • Play: Choose a house. Your opponent cannot choose that house as their active house until Restringuntus leaves play. • Artist: Timur Shevtsov • Card Number: CotA (094), AoA (102)

Restringuntus
Play: Choose a house. Your opponent cannot choose that house as their active house until Restringuntus leaves play.
CotA 094
AoA 102

FFG Rulings

  • On your next turn, during the choose a house step, you will be in a position where you must choose house Dis (because of the Pitlord), but also cannot choose house Dis (because of the Restringuntus). Cannot effects have precedence over must effects, thus you cannot choose Dis. You may still choose either one of your other houses though.

    Source: Rulebook
I have the card Pitlord (CoTA 093) in play and my opponent plays the card Restringuntus (CoTA 094) and chooses house Dis. What happens when I go to declare my house on my next turn?
On your next turn, during the choose a house step, you will be in a position where you must choose house Dis (because of the Pitlord), but also cannot choose house Dis (because of the Restringuntus). Cannot effects have precedence over must effects, thus you cannot choose Dis. You may still choose either one of your other houses though.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

Similar to Magda the Rat, the Play: ability of Restringuntus resolves and creates a lasting effect. This effect remains as long as the creature is in play, and the effect does not change if control of the creature changes. Further, if Restringuntus is played under Shadow of Dis, the Play ability doesn't resolve, so the lasting effect will not be created. The lasting effect does not change if it has already been established and then Shadow of Dis is played.