Chonkers

From Archon Arcana
Chonkers • Untamed • Creature • Rare • Skirmish.

After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Chonkers, double the number of +1 power counters on Chonkers.

Play: Give Chonkers a +1 power counter. • Artist: Michele Giorgi • Card Number: MM (396)

Chonkers
Skirmish.

After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Chonkers, double the number of +1 power counters on Chonkers.

Play: Give Chonkers a +1 power counter.

MM 396

FFG Rulings

  • 1 Power in both cases. Restrictive (“cannot”) effects overrule permissive (“may”) effects, and The Pale Star is essentially saying “creatures cannot have power other than 1 and armor other than 0”, So Chonkers will still only have 1 power this turn, despite any other counters or card effects that would usually increase its power, even if those counters are added after The Pale Star’s ability has triggered.

    Source: Rulebook
I have the The Pale Star (MM 049), Chonkers (MM 396), and Dark Æmber Vault (MM 001) in play. Chonkers has 1 printed power, one +1 power counter, and +2 power from the Dark Æmber Vault. If I sacrifice The Pale Star, how much power will Chonkers have? If I attack with Chonkers and it gains another +1 power counter this turn, how much power will it have then?
1 Power in both cases. Restrictive (“cannot”) effects overrule permissive (“may”) effects, and The Pale Star is essentially saying “creatures cannot have power other than 1 and armor other than 0”, So Chonkers will still only have 1 power this turn, despite any other counters or card effects that would usually increase its power, even if those counters are added after The Pale Star’s ability has triggered.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

Regardless if Chonkers was the attacker in a fight, if Chonkers survives a fight, its ability will resolve.