Self-Bolstering Automata

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Self-Bolstering Automata • Logos • Creature • Rare • Destroyed: If you have any other creatures in play, instead of destroying Self-Bolstering Automata, fully heal it, exhaust it, and move it to a flank. If you do, give it two +1 power counters. • Artist: Gong Studios • Card Number: WC (176)

Self-Bolstering Automata
Destroyed: If you have any other creatures in play, instead of destroying Self-Bolstering Automata, fully heal it, exhaust it, and move it to a flank. If you do, give it two +1 power counters.
WC 176
Artist: Gong Studios

FFG Rulings

  • Yes to both. The Self-Bolstering Automata must actually heal, exhaust, AND move in order to gain the +1 Power counters.

    Note that this also means the Self-Bolstering Automata must actually be moved to a flank in order to get the +1 Power counters, which it cannot do if it is your only creature in play.

    The situations where Self-Bolstering Automata will actually get the counters are a lot rarer than it might seems at first, but this is probably for the best because a nigh-immortal creature is already quite good, even if it doesn't get huge.

    Source
    AutomataQ.png
    AutomataA.png
NOTE: The rules text for what is considered a Move have been updated as of Rulebook 1.6.

What does the "if you do" refer to in the last sentence of Self-Bolstering Automata's ability? For example:

1. If Automata was already exhausted when it was destroyed, does that mean it doesn't get the power counters because I failed to exhaust it?

2. If Automata didn't have any damage on it when it was destroyed, does that mean it doesn't get the power counters because I failed to heal it?
Yes to both. The Self-Bolstering Automata must actually heal, exhaust, AND move in order to gain the +1 Power counters.

Note that this also means the Self-Bolstering Automata must actually be moved to a flank in order to get the +1 Power counters, which it cannot do if it is your only creature in play.

The situations where Self-Bolstering Automata will actually get the counters are a lot rarer than it might seems at first, but this is probably for the best because a nigh-immortal creature is already quite good, even if it doesn't get huge.

Source
AutomataQ.png
AutomataA.png