Stealer of Souls

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Stealer of Souls • Dis • Creature • Uncommon • After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Stealer of Souls, purge that creature and gain 1Aember icon. • Artist: Jorge Ramos • Card Number: CotA (098)

Stealer of Souls
After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Stealer of Souls, purge that creature and gain 1Aember icon.
CotA 098
Artist: Jorge Ramos

FFG Rulings

  • No, the Stealer of Souls’ ability will not trigger. In order for the Stealer of Souls ability to trigger it must be in play, so if both the Stealer of Souls and the creature it is fighting die, they die simultaneously and the Stealer of Souls ability cannot trigger (see “Destroyed” on Page 10).

    Source: Rulebook
I have a Stealer of Souls (CoTA 098) in play and my opponent has a Valdr (CoTA 029). I use my Stealer of Souls to fight Valdr and both creatures are destroyed. Does the Stealer of Souls’ ability trigger?
No, the Stealer of Souls’ ability will not trigger. In order for the Stealer of Souls ability to trigger it must be in play, so if both the Stealer of Souls and the creature it is fighting die, they die simultaneously and the Stealer of Souls ability cannot trigger (see “Destroyed” on Page 10).

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

Regardless if Stealer of Souls was the attacker in a fight, if Stealer of Souls survives a fight, its ability will resolve.