Earthbind

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
Earthbind
Earthbind • Untamed • Upgrade • Rare • This creature cannot be used unless its controller has discarded a card this turn. • Artist: Marc Escachx • Card Number: AoA:352, MM:398
Earthbind
This creature cannot be used unless its controller has discarded a card this turn.
AoA 352
MM 398
Artist: Marc Escachx

FFG Rulings

  • By default, "discard a card" means discarding a card from your hand. Therefore Earthbind's condition is not met by discarding a card from play (like a sacrifice effect) or discarding a card from the top of your deck (like Sound the Horns). The condition would be met, however, by an effect like Yurk's that has you discard from your hand.

    Source
    Screenshot 2019-10-14 at 10.11.58.png
My opponent played Earthbind on one of my creatures last turn. The rules for Sacrifice say I discard a creature from play. Would this satisfy the discard requirement for Earthbind? Do I specifically have to discard a card from my hand to use that creature, or does another effect that creates a discard (i.e. Sound the Horns) allow me to use the creature?
By default, "discard a card" means discarding a card from your hand. Therefore Earthbind's condition is not met by discarding a card from play (like a sacrifice effect) or discarding a card from the top of your deck (like Sound the Horns). The condition would be met, however, by an effect like Yurk's that has you discard from your hand.

Source
Screenshot 2019-10-14 at 10.11.58.png