Phoenix Heart

From Archon Arcana
Phoenix Heart • Brobnar • Upgrade • Rare • This creature gains, “Destroyed: Return this creature to its owner’s hand and deal 3Enhance damage.png to each creature in play.” • Artist: Caravan Studio • Card Number: CotA (051), AoA (045)

Phoenix Heart
This creature gains, “Destroyed: Return this creature to its owner’s hand and deal 3Enhance damage.png to each creature in play.”
CotA 051
AoA 045

FFG Rulings

  • Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

    There are two exceptions to this rule:

    1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
    2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

    Resolve in order written.png
My opponent had a Shadow Self with a Phoenix Heart and a Witch of the Eye. I attack and destroy the shadow self. Will Witch of the Eye survive due to Shadow Self taking the Phoenix Heart damage or does Shadow Self return to hand before damage from Phoenix Heart is dealt?
Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

There are two exceptions to this rule:

  1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
  2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

Resolve in order written.png

Commentary

If an ability states an effect is applied to "each creature", the effect is resolved for both Friendly and Enemy creatures.

Source: Rulebook