Phalanx Strike

From Archon Arcana
Phalanx Strike • Saurian • Action • Common • Play: Choose a creature. Deal 1Damage icon to it for each friendly creature. You may exalt a friendly creature to repeat the preceding effect. • Artist: Caravan Studio • Card Number: WC (189)

Phalanx Strike
Play: Choose a creature. Deal 1Damage icon to it for each friendly creature. You may exalt a friendly creature to repeat the preceding effect.
WC 189

FFG Rulings

  • Yes. Phalanx Strike is an exception to the rule that all damage from an ability is dealt simultaneously, because it explicitly establishes that the damage effect repeats a second time. This allows you to use the first instance of damage to remove a ward from a creature, and then use the repeated effect to deal damage to the same creature.

    Source: Rulebook
If I use Phalanx Strike (WC 189) and choose to exalt a friendly creature to repeat the damage effect, will this allow me to remove a ward counter from a creature and also damage the same creature?
Yes. Phalanx Strike is an exception to the rule that all damage from an ability is dealt simultaneously, because it explicitly establishes that the damage effect repeats a second time. This allows you to use the first instance of damage to remove a ward from a creature, and then use the repeated effect to deal damage to the same creature.

Source: Rulebook

Commentary

If you exalt a friendly creature to repeat the effect, it includes the text that allows you to choose a creature. Much like Bait and Switch, you can only repeat the preceding effect once.

Source: Preceding
If an ability says "Choose a creature," the Active Player may choose a Friendly or Enemy creature when resolving the effect.

Source: Rulebook