Firespitter

From Archon Arcana
Firespitter • Brobnar • Creature • Common • Before Fight: Deal 1Damage icon to each enemy creature. • Artist: Nicola Saviori • Card Number: CotA (032)

Firespitter
Before Fight: Deal 1Damage icon to each enemy creature.
Guess how he got that name.
CotA 032

FFG Rulings

  • No. Smite's damage effect refers to the neighbors that the defending creature had immediately before leaving play. As the 1 power defending creature will leave play at the same time as its 1 power neighbors due to Firespitter's Before Fight: ability, Smite's damage effect will fail because the creatures it refers to are no longer in play.

    Source: Rulebook
If I use Smite (AoA 224) to make my Firespitter (CotA 032) fight my opponent's 1 power creature which has 2 neighboring 1 power creatures, each of which has neighboring 2 power creatures on the flanks, will Smite destroy the 2 power flank creatures?
No. Smite's damage effect refers to the neighbors that the defending creature had immediately before leaving play. As the 1 power defending creature will leave play at the same time as its 1 power neighbors due to Firespitter's Before Fight: ability, Smite's damage effect will fail because the creatures it refers to are no longer in play.

Source: Rulebook