The active player may use any ready creature they control of the active house to fight. To resolve a fight, the active player performs the following steps in order:
- Choose one friendly, ready creature and exhaust it. This is the attacking creature.
- Choose one eligible enemy creature to be fought. Taunt and other card abilities may affect this choice. The creature chosen to be fought is the “attacked creature.”
- Resolve any “Before Fight” effects, Assault X effects on the attacking creature, and any Hazardous X effects on the enemy creature. If any of these effects cause one or both creatures to be destroyed, the fight does not occur.
- Both creatures deal pending damage to each other equal to their power and are considered “fighting” for the purposes of card effects. If the attacking creature has Splash-attack X, it also resolves now. Note that elusive, Skirmish, and other card abilities may affect the resolution of this step.
- If the attacking creature survived the fight, all “After Fight:” abilities on the attacking creature resolve. If either creature in a fight has a constant ability referencing the end of the fight, the creature must survive the fight to resolve the ability.
If either creature in a fight is destroyed while resolving assault, hazardous, or “Before Fight:” abilities, then the fight (dealing damage based on power) is skipped. The creatures are not considered to have been in a fight for the purpose of card effects that reference “fighting” or “in a fight”, and “After Fight:” abilities will not resolve. Card effects that reference “after a creature fights” or “after a creature is used” will still resolve, as the creature was used to fight (even though the fight did not resolve).
A creature cannot be used to fight if there are no enemy creatures to be fought.
Note: As of version 16.0 of the KeyForge Master Rulebook, all cards that have abilities that begin with “Fight:” should be read as “After Fight:”.