Academy Training

From Archon Arcana
Academy Training • Logos • Upgrade • Rare • If you control this creature, it belongs to house Logos. (Instead of its original house.)

This creature gains, “Reap: Draw a card.” • Artist: Caravan Studio • Card Number: WC (161), MM (098)

Academy Training
If you control this creature, it belongs to house Logos. (Instead of its original house.)

This creature gains, “Reap: Draw a card.”

WC 161
MM 098

FFG Rulings

  • The exalted creatures lose their usual house while they are house Saurian. By default these type of effects replace a card’s house unless they specify “in addition to its own house.” If that creature had Academy Training, Orator Hissaro's ability will also override that to make them Saurian for the remainder of the turn, and then they will return to being house Logos.

    Source
    Hissaro House Ruling.png
If Orator Hissaro is played, do the exalted creatures also belong to their usual house? What happens if one has Academy Training?
The exalted creatures lose their usual house while they are house Saurian. By default these type of effects replace a card’s house unless they specify “in addition to its own house.” If that creature had Academy Training, Orator Hissaro's ability will also override that to make them Saurian for the remainder of the turn, and then they will return to being house Logos.

Source
Hissaro House Ruling.png

Commentary

Upgrades enter play under the control of the player who played the upgrade. For Academy Training, this means that it doesn't matter if it is attached to a Friendly or Enemy creature, the "You/Your" in the constant ability text refers to the person who played the card, regardless of which player controls the creature to which the upgrade is attached.

The additional Reap: ability granted by Academy Training is resolved along with any other Reap: abilities of the creature, in the order of the active player's choosing.

Source: Reap