Ward

From Archon Arcana
Revision as of 22:48, 3 June 2020 by Blinkingline (talk | contribs)
First Officer Frane is Warded

When a creature becomes warded, place a ward counter on it. If a creature with a ward counter on it would be damaged or leave play, instead discard each ward counter on it. (Note: This prevents the creature from being tagged for destruction).

While a creature has a ward counter on it, it cannot be warded again.

Official rules v1.7 December 2020

FFG Rulings

  • Once a creature has been tagged for destruction, it's too late for the creature to be saved by a Ward. While a Ward can prevent a creature from being tagged for destruction, it will not prevent an already-tagged creature from leaving play.

What happens if a creature is Warded after being tagged for destruction, but before leaving play?
Once a creature has been tagged for destruction, it's too late for the creature to be saved by a Ward. While a Ward can prevent a creature from being tagged for destruction, it will not prevent an already-tagged creature from leaving play.

  • Yes. Like Stun, both Ward and Enrage can target creatures that already have a token on them, the action will have no additional effect.

    Source
    Ward-enrage clarification.jpg
Can I target a Warded or Enraged creature with the relevant effect and have it do nothing, similar to Stun?
Yes. Like Stun, both Ward and Enrage can target creatures that already have a token on them, the action will have no additional effect.

Source
Ward-enrage clarification.jpg

Commentary

The Timing Chart clarifies that Ward's effect happens after effects that prevent damage are applied, but before Armor is used to prevent damage.