Shadow Self

From Archon Arcana
Revision as of 02:07, 3 June 2020 by Coffeesaga (talk | contribs) (Replaced content with "{{Card Query}}")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shadow Self • Shadows • Creature • Common • Shadow Self deals no damage when fighting.

Damage dealt to non-Specter neighbors is dealt to Shadow Self instead. • Artist: Preston Stone • Card Number: CotA (310)

341-310.png
Shadow Self deals no damage when fighting.

Damage dealt to non-Specter neighbors is dealt to Shadow Self instead.

CotA 310

FFG Rulings

  • In this case, the Shadow Self will take 2 damage, the Raiding Knight will take no damage, and the 4 power creature will take 4 damage and be destroyed. This happens because before the damage can be dealt to the Raiding Knight, two of it is prevented by its armor. Then when the damage is actually being dealt, the damage that would be dealt to the Raiding Knight is dealt to the Shadow Self instead. At the same time as the Shadow Self is being dealt damage, the 4 power creature takes 4 damage from the Raiding Knight’s power.

    Source: Rulebook
I have Shadow Self (CoTA 310) with a Raiding Knight (CoTA 255) as a neighbor. My Raiding Knight is then attacked by a 4 power creature. How much damage does each creature take in this situation?
In this case, the Shadow Self will take 2 damage, the Raiding Knight will take no damage, and the 4 power creature will take 4 damage and be destroyed. This happens because before the damage can be dealt to the Raiding Knight, two of it is prevented by its armor. Then when the damage is actually being dealt, the damage that would be dealt to the Raiding Knight is dealt to the Shadow Self instead. At the same time as the Shadow Self is being dealt damage, the 4 power creature takes 4 damage from the Raiding Knight’s power.

Source: Rulebook
  • Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

    There are two exceptions to this rule:

    1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
    2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

    Resolve in order written.png
My opponent had a Shadow Self with a Phoenix Heart and a Witch of the Eye. I attack and destroy the shadow self. Will Witch of the Eye survive due to Shadow Self taking the Phoenix Heart damage or does Shadow Self return to hand before damage from Phoenix Heart is dealt?
Card text should always be resolved in the order it is written, so in this case the Phoenix Heart effect would return Shadow Self to your opponent's hand before the 3 damage is dealt to all creatures. So Witch of the Eye will also be destroyed.

There are two exceptions to this rule:

  1. Replacement Effects that override another effect on the card.
  2. When an ability does multiple instances of damage, all damage will occur simultaneously.

Resolve in order written.png
  • Yes, even though the Shadow Self was not attacked directly, it was destroyed by damage done by the creatures power, so will generate an Æmber when The Warchest activates.

If I attack a creature next to a Shadow Self, and the redirected damage destroys the Shadow Self, was it destroyed in a fight?
Yes, even though the Shadow Self was not attacked directly, it was destroyed by damage done by the creatures power, so will generate an Æmber when The Warchest activates.

Commentary

If a creature with the Poison keyword attacked a neighbor of Shadow Self, then Shadow Self would be destroyed by the Poison effect because any damage dealt via the power of a creature with the poison keyword during a fight destroys the damaged creature.

Shadowselfpoison.png