The Archivist

From Archon Arcana - The KeyForge Wiki
The Archivist • Logos • Creature • Rare • If you archive The Archivist, archive it faceup.

While The Archivist is in your archives, instead of picking up all of your archives, you may choose to pick up any number of cards in your archives. • Artist: Dany Orizio • Card Number: MM (113)

The Archivist
If you archive The Archivist, archive it faceup.

While The Archivist is in your archives, instead of picking up all of your archives, you may choose to pick up any number of cards in your archives.

MM 113
Artist: Dany Orizio

FFG Rulings

  • “Put into your archives” is technically different from “archive” in the same way that “put into play” is technically different from “play.” If a card effect puts The Archivist into either player’s archives, it will go there face down like any other card, and its abilities will not be active.

In my battle line I have The Archivist. If I play Mind Over Matter, does The Archivist's ability resolve and go into my archives face up, or is "Put into archives" a different effect from "Archive"? Also, what happens when The Archivist is put into its non-owner's archive by another card effect such as Sample Collection? Is the Archivist being face-up in the Archives a requirement for its ability to resolve?
“Put into your archives” is technically different from “archive” in the same way that “put into play” is technically different from “play.” If a card effect puts The Archivist into either player’s archives, it will go there face down like any other card, and its abilities will not be active.

Commentary

When resolving the ability of The Archivist, "any number" can be treated as zero.

Source: Play (step)