Some card abilities cause a player to gain one or more chains. If a player gains chains, that player increases their chain tracker by the number of chains gained. If a player has at least one chain when refilling their hand and would draw cards based on the number of remaining cards in their hand, they draw fewer cards according to the chart below. Then, they shed one chain by reducing the number on their chain tracker by one.
|# of Chains||How many fewer cards to draw|
While drawing an initial hand of cards during setup, if a deck has chains assigned to it, the chains also apply to the initial hand of cards drawn as if you were refilling a hand during step 5. A chain is shed for this initial draw as per the standard rules.
No, you will not shed a chain during this draw cards step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so. Since you already have 7 cards in your hand, you aren’t going to be drawing any cards, and thus don’t lose any of your chains.Source: Rulebook
Yes, you will shed a chain during this step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so. You only have 5 cards in hand, and normally you would draw a card to refill your hand. However because of the chains you are prevented from drawing that card. Since you would normally have drawn the card and the chain prevented it, you then shed 1 chain.Source: Rulebook
A deck can never have more than 24 chains.Source: FFG Live