Auto-Encoder

From Archon Arcana
Auto-Encoder • Logos • Artifact • Common • After a card is discarded from your hand, archive the top card of your deck. • Artist: Dany Orizio • Card Number: MM (066)

Auto-Encoder
After a card is discarded from your hand, archive the top card of your deck.
MM 066
Artist: Dany Orizio

FFG Rulings

  • Auto-Encoder has to resolve immediately after you discard a card, so when you reap with Auto-Encoder, you discard, then archive, then draw. These effects are not simultaneous, so the active player can not change their order.

I have Sacro-Bot and Auto-Encoder in play. If I reap with Sacro-Bot, its Reap: ability causes me to discard a card from hand, which allows me to resolve Auto-Encoder. Does the resolution of Auto-Encoder's ability happen at the same time as the "If you do", from Sacro-Bot (meaning the active player can choose the order to resolve them) or does Auto-Encoder have to resolve first?
Auto-Encoder has to resolve immediately after you discard a card, so when you reap with Auto-Encoder, you discard, then archive, then draw. These effects are not simultaneous, so the active player can not change their order.

Commentary

With the exception of draw, if an ability references the top card of the deck and the deck is empty, the discard pile is not shuffled to form a new deck.